ART / Openings



BARBICAN CENTRE Anthony Wishaw. Very British semi-abstraction. Concourse Gallery, EC2. (071-638 4141). 18 Jan-6 Mar. Mon-Sat 9.00-7.30, Sun 12.00-7.30; free.

DULWICH PICTURE GALLERY Michael Kenny. A series of drawings based on the artist's relationship with the paintings by Poussin in the gallery's collection. College Rd, SE21 (081-693 5254). 18 Jan-3 Apr. Tue-Fri 10.00-1.00, 2.00-5.00, Sat 11.0-5.00, Sun 2.00- 5.00.

SERPENTINE GALLERY 'Wall to wall'. Six contemporary artists who draw on the wall. Lothar Baumgarten, Michael Craig- Martin, Jessica Diamond, Barbara Kruger, Niele Toroni and Lawrence Weiner. Kensington Gardens, W2 (071-402 6075). 19 Jan-27 Feb. Daily 10.00-6.00; free.

TATE GALLERY New displays. Hogarth and mid 18th-century British art. Bacon alongside Giacometti. William Nicholson, Edward Burra and Naum Gabo. Millbank, SW1 (071- 887 8000). From 24 Jan. Mon-Sat 10.00-5.00, Sun 2.00-5.00; free.


BRISTOL Arnolfini Richard Wentworth. Found objects and human ingenuity. (First shown at the Serpentine Gallery). 16 Narrow Quay (0272 299191). 19 Jan-27 Feb. Mon-Sat 10.00-7.00, Sun 12.00-7.00.

EDINBURGH RSA Galleries Royal Scottish Society of Painters in Watercolours annual exhibition. The Mound (041-226 3838). 22 Jan-17 Feb. Mon-Sat 10.00-5.00 Sun 2.00-5.00; pounds 1.50, conc pounds 1.

MANCHESTER Metropolitan Galleries Greg Leach. The artist in residence at HM Prison Manchester shows what effect his stay inside has had on him in a photography- based exhibition entitled 'Form'. Southall St. 18 Jan-13 Feb. mon-Fri 10.00-6.00. Also at Viewpoint Gallery, The Crescent. (061- 247 1708). Mon-Fri 9.30-5.00, Sun 2.00-5.00.

ST IVES Tate Gallery New study display. A close look at Bryan Wynter's extraordinary kinetic sculpture Imoos VI. Porthmeor Beach. (0736 796226). 22 Jan-10 Apr. Tue 11.00-9.00, Wed-Sat 11.00-5.00, Sun 1.00-5.00; pounds 2.50, conc pounds 1.50.



THE LIVING ROOM Pete Hoida. Recent paintings by a Goldsmiths' graduate. Abstracts, painted with vigour and a sensitivity to surface, colour and tone, which refer to the elements and landscape in a way not dissimilar from Lanyon and Frost. 142 Greenwich High Rd, SE10 (081-853 2325). 21 Jan-6 Feb. Mon-Fri 6.30-9.00, Sat-Sun 11.00-6.30.

SOUTH LONDON GALLERY Vivan Sundaram. The leading Indian artist in the Arte Povera tradition presents three sculptures: 'Map', 'Monument' and 'Fallen Mortal'. 65 Peckham Rd, SE5 (071- 703 6120). 18 Jan-20 Feb. Tue-Fri 11.00-6.00, Thur to 7.00, Sat-Sun 2.00-6.00.

ST MARTIN'S GALLERY Paul Hobbs. Multi-media work on the subject of human value. St Martin's in the Fields, Trafalgar Sq, W2 (071-930 0089). 18-29 Jan. Mon-Sat 10.00- 6.00, Sun 12.00-6.00.

TODD GALLERY Mark Fairington. Fragments of Renaissance religious imagery. 1-5 Needham Rd. W11 (071-792 1404). 20 Jan-19 Feb. Tue-Fri 11.00-6.00, Sat 11.00-4.00.