Click to follow
TODAY: Mr Lyndon Brook, actor, 73; Lord Brookes, former company chairman, 90; Professor J. Desmond Clark, anthropologist and archaeologist, 83; Sir Anthony Cleaver, chairman, AEA Technology, 61; Sir Edward Evans- Lombe, High Court judge, 62; Mr Lennox Fyfe, chairman, Co-operative Wholesale Society, 58; Mr Patrick Garland, theatre and film director, 64; Miss Lesley Garrett, soprano, 44; Mr Adrian Henri, former president, Liverpool Academy of Arts, 67; Mr John Holroyd, Secretary for Appointments to the Prime Minister, 64; Miss Gloria Hunniford, radio presenter, 59; Mr Owen Kelly, former Commissioner of Police for the City of London, 67; Mr Tom Levitt MP, 45; Professor Kathleen Major, former Principal, St Hilda's College, Oxford, 93; Mr Stan Mellor, racehorse trainer and former jockey, 62; Mr David Moorcroft, athlete, 46; Sir Robert Rhodes James, historian and former MP, 66; Mr Omar Sharif, actor, 67; Mr Thomas Spencer, MEP, 51; Mr Christopher Stoddart, managing director, GMTV, 49; Mr Paul Theroux, writer, 58; Mr Max von Sydow, actor, 70; Sir Rodney Walker, former chairman, Sports Council, 56.

TOMORROW: Miss Janet Allen, former Headmistress, Benenden School, 63; Viscount Buckmaster, former diplomat, 78; Mr Joseph Burnett-Stuart, former chairman, Robert Fleming Holdings, 69; Professor Raymond Carr, former Warden, St Antony's College, Oxford, 80; Mr John Cryer MP, 35; Mr Gervase de Peyer, clarinettist, 73; Sir Oscar De Ville, former chairman, Meyer International, 74; Mr Clive Exton, scriptwriter, 69; Mr James Alan Ferman, former director, British Board of Film Classification, 69; Miss Jill Gascoine, actress, 62; Mr Joel Grey, actor and singer, 67; Mr Michael Hindley, MEP, 52; Mr Derek Martin, actor, 66; Dame Anne Poole, former chief nursing officer, Department of Health, 65; Mr Roland Smith, ambassador to the Ukraine, 56; Mr Richard Wainwright, former MP, 81; Professor Michael Wright, mechanical engineer and Vice-Chancellor, Aston University, 52.