Click to follow
TODAY: Mr Naim Attallah, publisher, 68; Mr John Belcher, chief executive, Anchor Trust, 52; Mr Gary Bertini, conductor, 72; Sir Richard Brooke, chartered accountant, 84; Mr Steve Cauthen, jockey, 39; Mr Ian Curteis, playwright, 64; Lord Dahrendorf, former Warden, St Antony's College, Oxford, 70; Sir Henry de Waal QC, 68; Mr Glenn Ford, actor, 83; Dr Michael Goldstein, Vice-Chancellor, Coventry University, 60; Sir Irvine Goulding, former High Court judge, 89; Mr Gordon Greenidge, former cricketer, 48; Mr Joseph Heller, novelist, 76; Sir Robert Hill, reliability consultant and former President, Institute of Marine Engineers, 62; Mr W. Leonard Hyde, former president, Leeds Permanent Building Society, 85; Mr Kevin Kennedy, adviser, Board of Management, Philips Electronics, 62; Professor Philip King, sculptor, 65; Miss Joanna Lumley, actress, 53; Sir Bruce McPhail, managing director, P&O, 60; Mr Julian Mitchell, writer and playwright, 64; Mr Bo Nilsson, composer, 62; Mr Archie Norman MP, 45; Air Commodore Dame Felicity Peake, first Director, WRAF, 86; Mr Sonny Ramadhin, former cricketer, 70; Sir Bob Reid, chairman, Sears, 65; Col Sir Greville Spratt, former Lord Mayor of London, 72; Miss Una Stubbs, actress, 62; Miss Wendy Toye, theatrical producer, 82; Lord Watson of Invergowrie, former MP, 50; Professor Richard Welbourn, Emeritus Professor of Surgical Endocrinology, Royal Postgraduate Medical School, London University, 80; Sir John Wheeler, former MP, 59; Admiral Sir John Woodward, former Commander-in-Chief, Naval Home Command, 67.

TOMORROW: Maj-Gen David Alexander-Sinclair, 72; Dr Robert Anderson, Director, British Museum, 55; Air Chief Marshal Sir John Barraclough, 81; Mr Theodore Bikel, actor, 75; Professor Neil Buxton, Vice-Chancellor, University of Hertfordshire, 59; The Right Rev Bruce Cameron, Bishop of Aberdeen and Orkney, 58; Sir Hugh Cortazzi, former diplomat, 75; Dr Ian Evans, Head Master, Bedford School, 51; Mr Alastair Forbes, journalist and writer, 81; Mr Peter Foster, architect, 80; Mr Jon Foulds, chairman, Halifax Building Society, 67; Sir Campbell Fraser, former chairman, Scottish Television, 76; Sir James Hamilton, former civil servant, 76; Dr Patrick Hillery, former president of the Irish Republic, 76; Professor Sir Robert Honeycombe, metallurgist, 78; Mr Engelbert Humperdinck, singer, 63; Mr Clive Jenkins, trade union leader, 73; Mr Michael Kaser, economist, and General Editor, International Economic Association, 73; Mr Brian Lara, cricketer, 30; Dr Malcolm Lipkin, composer, 67; Mr Richard Livsey MP, 64; Mr David Lock MP, 39; Miss Elaine McDonald, Director, Creative Dance Artists Trust, 56; Miss Peggy Mount, actress, 83; Mr John Neville, actor and director, 74; Air Marshal Sir Ian Pedder, 73; Mrs Dawn Primarolo MP, Financial Secretary to the Treasury, 45; Lord Silsoe QC, barrister, 69; Sir Ronald Sinclair, former judge, 96; Dame Nancy Snagge, former Director, WRAF, 93; Mr David Suchet, actor, 53; Mr Alan Titchmarsh, broadcaster, 50; Mr Jimmy White, snooker player, 37; Lord Woolf, Master of the Rolls, 66.