Click to follow
The Independent Culture

TODAY: Mr Lionel Bart, composer, 68; Mr Derek Birdsall, graphic designer and typographer, 64; Miss Janet Gough, High Mistress, St Paul's Girls' School, 58; Mr Frank Hauser, theatrical director, 76; Mr Jack Kramer, tennis champion, 77; Sir Richard Lloyd Jones, former Permanent Secretary, Welsh Office, 65; Professor Monty Losowsky, Professor of Medicine, St James's University Hospital, Leeds, 67; Maj-Gen Ronald Macdonald, 87; Professor Wyndraeth Morris-Jones, political scientist, 80; Mr Patrick Nixon, former High Commissioner to Zambia, 54; Professor Benjamin Roberts, Emeritus Professor of Industrial Relations, London School of Economics, 81; Mr Andy Roxburgh, former manager, Scotland football team, 55; M Yves Saint Laurent, haute couturier, 62; Mr Jeffrey Segal, actor and playwright, 78; The Right Rev Professor Stephen Sykes, Bishop of Ely, 59; Professor Laurie Taylor, sociologist and broadcaster, 62; Mr John Tomlinson, MEP, 59; Mr Gwyn Ward Thomas, chairman and chief executive, Yorkshire Tyne Tees Television, 75.

TOMORROW: Mr Edward Bell, chairman and publisher, HarperCollins UK, 49; Sir Ronald Brierley, company chairman, 61; Mr John Gale, theatrical producer, 69; Sir John Hannam, former MP, 69; Sir Christopher Hogg, chairman, Reuters Holdings, 62; Dr George Kimble, geographer, 90; Miss Anne Leuchars, television journalist, 45; Mr Sammy McIlroy, footballer, 44; Lord Murray of Epping Forest, former TUC general secretary, 76; Sir Brian Neill, a former Lord Justice of Appeal, 75; Mr Peter O'Toole, actor, 66; Sir Michael Peckham, Director, School of Public Policy, University College, London, 63; Lord Shuttleworth, deputy chairman, Abbey Mational, 50; Mr Richard Simmonds, chairman, Countryside Commission, 54; Professor Sir Peter Swinnerton- Dyer, mathematician, 71; Miss Rose Tremain, novelist and playwright, 55; Mr Alan Tuffin, former trade union leader, 65; Lord Waddington QC, former Governor of Bermuda, 69; Mr Alan Whicker, television broadcaster, 73; Sir Brian Wolfson, former chairman, Wembley plc, 63.