Invisible Ink No 133: Basil Copper

 

British weird fiction is a unique and marvellous genre, often maligned, usually misunderstood. Its exponents had unassuming grace, their grammatically correct prose following the traditional Gothic supernatural form. They were seasoned in wars and polished in pressrooms, published in the once-vibrant anthology industry by editors such as August Derleth, Herbert Van Thal and Stephen Jones: collectors and enthusiasts with a keen eye for well-turned tales.

Basil Copper might be described as one of the last great gentlemen of the supernatural. Born in 1924, he took part in the D-Day landings and returned to edit a Kent newspaper. His first story, "The Spider", was published in the Fifth Pan Book of Horror Stories for £10, and took half an hour to write. After that, he fluctuated between tales of the macabre in the vein of M R James and HP Lovecraft, and 52 volumes featuring the hard-boiled Los Angeles P I Mike Faraday. Copper never went to California, but recreated its topography from old films.

The New English Library published his first supernatural collection, Not After Nightfall, and several more collections produced stories that became firm anthology favourites. The 1970s were a wonderful time for British writers of the macabre. Peter Haining was gathering tales for volumes such as The Ghouls and The Midnight People, TV shows were scouring shelves for stories to film, movie novelizations were being commissioned, Fontana and Pan had annual collections of the best ghost and horror tales, and Copper's output was prodigious.

His finest stories dispense with moral retribution and simply feature unsettling events, such as his tale of a man who becomes unmoored inside a camera obscura. While Copper could write of vampires and werewolves, haunted houses and misted moors, he could easily produce a frisson of fear from a simple shifting shadow. Kim Newman reminds us that in Copper's world the roses are still trimmed and there's sherry at the rectory, and a fiancée has "decided views" on sex before marriage – which somehow makes his unearthly events more powerful for disturbing the natural order. As Copper was penning these tales in the 1970s, the sense of anomaly is greater for first luring you back to a safer time.

Like Newman, who also produces superior Holmes tales, Copper had his own sleuth, Solar Pons, but often his very English prose suffered at the hands of US editors. Happily his style is now back in fashion, and he is still with us to enjoy its resurgence.

Arts and Entertainment

Film Leonardo DiCaprio hunts Tom Hardy

Arts and Entertainment
And now for something completely different: the ‘Sin City’ episode of ‘Casualty’
TV
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Arts and Entertainment

ebooksNow available in paperback
Arts and Entertainment

ebooks
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
SPONSORED FEATURES

ES Rentals

    Independent Dating
    and  

    By clicking 'Search' you
    are agreeing to our
    Terms of Use.

    Turkey-Kurdish conflict: Obama's deal with Ankara is a betrayal of Syrian Kurds and may not even weaken Isis

    US betrayal of old ally brings limited reward

    Since the accord, the Turks have only waged war on Kurds while no US bomber has used Incirlik airbase, says Patrick Cockburn
    VIPs gather for opening of second Suez Canal - but doubts linger over security

    'A gift from Egypt to the rest of the world'

    VIPs gather for opening of second Suez Canal - but is it really needed?
    Jeremy Corbyn dresses abysmally. That's a great thing because it's genuine

    Jeremy Corbyn dresses abysmally. That's a great thing because it's genuine

    Fashion editor, Alexander Fury, applauds a man who clearly has more important things on his mind
    The male menopause and intimations of mortality

    Aches, pains and an inkling of mortality

    So the male menopause is real, they say, but what would the Victorians, 'old' at 30, think of that, asks DJ Taylor
    Man Booker Prize 2015: Anna Smaill - How can I possibly be on the list with these writers I have idolised?

    'How can I possibly be on the list with these writers I have idolised?'

    Man Booker Prize nominee Anna Smaill on the rise of Kiwi lit
    Bettany Hughes interview: The historian on how Socrates would have solved Greece's problems

    Bettany Hughes interview

    The historian on how Socrates would have solved Greece's problems
    Art of the state: Pyongyang propaganda posters to be exhibited in China

    Art of the state

    Pyongyang propaganda posters to be exhibited in China
    Mildreds and Vanilla Black have given vegetarian food a makeover in new cookbooks

    Vegetarian food gets a makeover

    Long-time vegetarian Holly Williams tries to recreate some of the inventive recipes in Mildreds and Vanilla Black's new cookbooks
    The haunting of Shirley Jackson: Was the gothic author's life really as bleak as her fiction?

    The haunting of Shirley Jackson

    Was the gothic author's life really as bleak as her fiction?
    Bill Granger recipes: Heading off on holiday? Try out our chef's seaside-inspired dishes...

    Bill Granger's seaside-inspired recipes

    These dishes are so easy to make, our chef is almost embarrassed to call them recipes
    Ashes 2015: Tourists are limp, leaderless and distinctly UnAustralian

    Tourists are limp, leaderless and distinctly UnAustralian

    A woefully out-of-form Michael Clarke embodies his team's fragile Ashes campaign, says Michael Calvin
    Blairites be warned, this could be the moment Labour turns into Syriza

    Andrew Grice: Inside Westminster

    Blairites be warned, this could be the moment Labour turns into Syriza
    HMS Victory: The mystery of Britain's worst naval disaster is finally solved - 271 years later

    The mystery of Britain's worst naval disaster is finally solved - 271 years later

    Exclusive: David Keys reveals the research that finally explains why HMS Victory went down with the loss of 1,100 lives
    Survivors of the Nagasaki atomic bomb attack: Japan must not abandon its post-war pacifism

    'I saw people so injured you couldn't tell if they were dead or alive'

    Nagasaki survivors on why Japan must not abandon its post-war pacifism
    Jon Stewart: The voice of Democrats who felt Obama had failed to deliver on his 'Yes We Can' slogan, and the voter he tried hardest to keep onside

    The voter Obama tried hardest to keep onside

    Outgoing The Daily Show host, Jon Stewart, became the voice of Democrats who felt the President had failed to deliver on his ‘Yes We Can’ slogan. Tim Walker charts the ups and downs of their 10-year relationship on screen