Male bonding on the info-tech exchange

Harry Pearson knows a 130+ grain copper clad slug from a Colt .38 when he sees one

Henry James once said that, from no more than an overheard snatch of conversation between two soldiers, a writer should be able to produce a novel about the army. It is a safe bet that Henry James would not cut it in the world of modern thriller writing. The core thriller audience is male, so hard facts along with hard muscle are essential components. The idea that they are involving themselves in a world someone has simply made up is abhorrent to many men: the stuff of fiction is deception and no man likes to think of himself as easily fooled. As a consequence the considerable imagination which goes into creating the modern thriller comes concealed beneath a camoulflage net of information.

While many early thriller writers such as Erskine Childers and William Le Queux worked for the secret service, the turning point in the history of the genre surely came with the arrival of Frederick Forsyth, the first black belt in the martial art of research. Post-Day of the Jackal authentic inside knowledge - or at least the appearance of it - became integral to success. As a result, establishing early credibility is the key for the modern thriller writer. Jacket blurb and acknowledgements are front- line weaponry in the battle for the heart and mind of the reader.

As a former BBC defence correspondent, Mark Urban clearly has a march on his rivals here. As the jacket points out (twice), his journalistic work has given him an "unique insight" into the world of espionage. It has also given him an unique grasp of acronyms. Of the chief protagonists in The Illegal (Headline, pounds 16.99) one, Denton, works for K2 section of K Branch at GWS a couple of floors down from the DG and the DDG (A), while the other, Johnson, is a DS in the CID who doesn't have much time for SO19 or the ACPO, though he does nurse a sneaky fondness for UB-40. It would be tempting to dismiss this as a load of BS, if only for a cheap laugh, but a B+ would be nearer the mark. The plot of The Illegal revolves around the past coming back and haunting people and Urban steers his characters through it with a deal of panache and a good eye for the contrast between the laddish world of the police and the starchy yet more lethal one of the Intelligence Service.

Like Mark Urban, Stephen Hunter, American author of Black Light (Century, pounds 15.99), is a journalist. Unfortunately for him he is a film critic. This does not give him an unique insight into anything much except, presumably, the going rate for a Wenger's hot-dog. Hunter uses his acknowledgements to give his fiction a factual buttress and a skilful job he makes of it too, cunningly luring the reader into an ambush that leaves him unsure whether what he is about to read is a novel or a 1990s version of In Cold Blood.

Hunter has done research, too - most of it on guns. But where Urban has initials, Hunter has figures. His hero, ex-Marine Corps sniper Bob Lee Swagger, has a bad hip caused by "a 148-grain 7.62 x 54 full-metal-jacketed bullet launched at over 2,600 feet per second." Bob's father, Earl, an Arkansas cop, was killed when Bob was a boy by a couple of 130+ grain copper clad slugs from a Colt.38 Super Government Model (travelling speed unknown, but quicker than a 2CV heading down a 1-in-3 is my guess) and - hey, wait a minute, isn't that a .3115 bevelled entry wound in Pa's sternum? And what's that hovering over in the corner of the stableyard? Well, damn if it ain't the past coming on all spooky again.

There are a few false notes in Black Light, some large chunks of information about silencers and night-sights drop into the dialogue with hollow thuds, and Swagger's daughter Nicki is so unbearably cute that anyone not blessed with the iron self-restraint of a trained man-hunter would surely have brained her with a lug-wrench long before her fourth birthday, but the action scenes are good enough to blast through such obstacles and leave you sitting up way past lights-out trying to figure who killed Earl Swagger and why.

Bostonian crime writer Robert B. Parker long ago reached that enviable moment in a writer's life when the size of his name on the dust jacket swells to ten times that of the title. With a string of best-sellers to his name he hardly needs to establish his bona fides. Like the old pro he is, though, he keeps working at it, appearing in his author photo wearing shades, leather jacket and baseball cap and accompanied by a large German dog. Parker is usually described as working within the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Ross Macdonald. His private eye, Spenser, is full of wisecracks and funny, sour observations on his fellow citizens and there is something oddly old-fashioned about the world he inhabits. In the end reading Chance (Viking, pounds 16) is rather like listening to a Dixieland Jazz Band: it's good fun, but every so often you get the uneasy feeling that elsewhere life is moving on.

Arts and Entertainment
Reawakening: can Jon Hamm’s Don Draper find enlightenment in the final ‘Mad Men’?
tv reviewNot quite, but it's an enlightening finale for Don Draper spoiler alert
Arts and Entertainment
Breakfast Show’s Nick Grimshaw

Radio
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Arts and Entertainment

ebooksNow available in paperback
Arts and Entertainment

ebooks
Arts and Entertainment

Eurovision
Arts and Entertainment
'Youth' cast members Paul Dano, Jane Fonda, Harvey Keitel, Rachel Weisz, and Michael Caine pose for photographers at Cannes Film Festival
film
Arts and Entertainment
Adam West as Batman and Burt Ward and Robin in the 1960s Batman TV show

Comics
Arts and Entertainment
I am flute: Azeem Ward and his now-famous instrument
music
Arts and Entertainment
A glass act: Dr Chris van Tulleken (left) and twin Xand get set for their drinking challenge
TV review
Arts and Entertainment
MIA perform at Lovebox 2014 in London Fields, Hackney

music
Arts and Entertainment
Finnish punk band PKN hope to enter Eurovision 2015 and raise awareness for Down's Syndrome

eurovision
Arts and Entertainment
William Shakespeare on the cover of John Gerard's The Herball or Generall Historie of Plantes

books
Arts and Entertainment

Game of Thrones review
Arts and Entertainment
Grayson Perry dedicates his Essex home to Julie

Potter's attempt to create an Essex Taj Mahal was a lovely treat

tv
Arts and Entertainment
A scene from the original Swedish version of the sci-fi TV drama ‘Real Humans’
tv
Arts and Entertainment
Hugh Keays-Byrne plays Immortan Joe, the terrifying gang leader, in the new film
filmActor who played Toecutter returns - but as a different villain in reboot
Arts and Entertainment
Charlize Theron as Imperator Furiosa in Mad Max: Fury Road
film
Arts and Entertainment
Jessica Hynes in W1A
tvReview: Perhaps the creators of W1A should lay off the copy and paste function spoiler alert
Arts and Entertainment
Power play: Mitsuko Uchida in concert

classical
Arts and Entertainment
Dangerous liaisons: Dominic West, Jake Richard Siciliano, Maura Tierney and Leya Catlett in ‘The Affair’ – a contradictory drama but one which is sure to reel the viewers in
TV review
Arts and Entertainment
Richard Herring, pictured performing at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival two years ago
comedy
Arts and Entertainment
Music freak: Max Runham in the funfair band
theatre
Arts and Entertainment
film 'I felt under-used by Hollywood'
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?

ES Rentals

    Independent Dating
    and  

    By clicking 'Search' you
    are agreeing to our
    Terms of Use.

    Abuse - and the hell that came afterwards

    Abuse - and the hell that follows

    James Rhodes on the extraordinary legal battle to publish his memoir
    Why we need a 'tranquility map' of England, according to campaigners

    It's oh so quiet!

    The case for a 'tranquility map' of England
    'Timeless fashion': It may be a paradox, but the industry loves it

    'Timeless fashion'

    It may be a paradox, but the industry loves it
    If the West needs a bridge to the 'moderates' inside Isis, maybe we could have done with Osama bin Laden staying alive after all

    Could have done with Osama bin Laden staying alive?

    Robert Fisk on the Fountainheads of World Evil in 2011 - and 2015
    New exhibition celebrates the evolution of swimwear

    Evolution of swimwear

    From bathing dresses in the twenties to modern bikinis
    Sun, sex and an anthropological study: One British academic's summer of hell in Magaluf

    Sun, sex and an anthropological study

    One academic’s summer of hell in Magaluf
    From Shakespeare to Rising Damp... to Vicious

    Frances de la Tour's 50-year triumph

    'Rising Damp' brought De la Tour such recognition that she could be forgiven if she'd never been able to move on. But at 70, she continues to flourish - and to beguile
    'That Whitsun, I was late getting away...'

    Ian McMillan on the Whitsun Weddings

    This weekend is Whitsun, and while the festival may no longer resonate, Larkin's best-loved poem, lives on - along with the train journey at the heart of it
    Kathryn Williams explores the works and influences of Sylvia Plath in a new light

    Songs from the bell jar

    Kathryn Williams explores the works and influences of Sylvia Plath
    How one man's day in high heels showed him that Cannes must change its 'no flats' policy

    One man's day in high heels

    ...showed him that Cannes must change its 'flats' policy
    Is a quiet crusade to reform executive pay bearing fruit?

    Is a quiet crusade to reform executive pay bearing fruit?

    Dominic Rossi of Fidelity says his pressure on business to control rewards is working. But why aren’t other fund managers helping?
    The King David Hotel gives precious work to Palestinians - unless peace talks are on

    King David Hotel: Palestinians not included

    The King David is special to Jerusalem. Nick Kochan checked in and discovered it has some special arrangements, too
    More people moving from Australia to New Zealand than in the other direction for first time in 24 years

    End of the Aussie brain drain

    More people moving from Australia to New Zealand than in the other direction for first time in 24 years
    Meditation is touted as a cure for mental instability but can it actually be bad for you?

    Can meditation be bad for you?

    Researching a mass murder, Dr Miguel Farias discovered that, far from bringing inner peace, meditation can leave devotees in pieces
    Eurovision 2015: Australians will be cheering on their first-ever entrant this Saturday

    Australia's first-ever Eurovision entrant

    Australia, a nation of kitsch-worshippers, has always loved the Eurovision Song Contest. Maggie Alderson says it'll fit in fine