Former UK Poet Laureate to chair 2010 Man Booker jury

Click to follow

Sir Andrew Motion, former UK Poet Laureate, will serve as Chair of the judges for the 2010 Man Booker Prize for Fiction, according to an annoncement November 18.

Andrew Motion is Professor of Creative Writing at Royal Holloway College of the University of London and is co-founder of the online Poetry Archive. He was appointed Poet Laureate in 1999 for a ten-year term. His writing has earned him honors including the Somerset Maugham Award and the Whitbread Prize for Biography; in 2009, he was knighted for his services to literature.

The longlist for the award - 'The Booker Dozen' will be announced in July 2010. A shortlist will follow in September, and the winner will be announced on October 12, 2010.

One of the world's most prestigious literary awards, the Man Booker Prize is awarded annually to the best English-language novel by an author from the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe. The winner is awarded £50,000 (about €56,000).