International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2010 longlist includes works by Adiga and Saramago

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

On November 2, the longlist was announced for the 2010 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the largest prize worldwide for a single work of fiction published in English.

The prize is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality, provided the work has been published in English or as an English translation. The annual award is €100,000.

One hundred fifty-six titles had been nominated to the longlist for the 2010 IMPAC. Among the longlist entries are 2008 Man Booker winner Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger, 1998 Nobel laureate José Saramago's Death with Interruption, and works by two major Chinese writers: Jiang Rong for Wolf Totem, and Ma Jian for Beijing Coma. American author Phillip Roth has been nominated for Indignation; other US entries include 1993 Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison for A Mercy, and Pulitzer prize-winning author Marilynne Robinson for Home.

The full list can be viewed on

The IMPAC is unique among literary prizes because nominations come from libraries around the world. This year's nominations came from 163 libraries in 123 cities worldwide. Books are eligible for the award two years from their date of publication. To win an award in 2010, for example, the work (or its English translation) must have been published in 2008.

The shortlist for the 2010 IMPAC will be announced in April 2010, and the winner will be revealed in June.