Shortlist for Canadian Giller Prize revealed

Click to follow
(Relaxnews) -

On October 6 the shortlist for the Giller Prize, Canada's richest literary prize, was announced, with an award ceremony set for November 10.

A purse of CA$50,000 (€32,200) has been awarded annually since 1994 to the best Canadian novel or short-story collection published in English, including translations.

This year's jury is composed of US novelist and short story writer Russell Banks, British author Victoria Glendinning and Canadian writer Alistair MacLeod, marking the first time non-Canadians are among the jurors.

This year's finalists for the Giller Prize are all novels:

The Disappeared by Kim Echlin
The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon
The Bishop's Man by Linden MacIntyre
Fall by Colin McAdam
The Winter Vault by Anne Michaels