Win William Hill's sports books of the year

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

On Tuesday 30 November, at the Waterstone’s store in London’s West End, the winner of the 22nd William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award will receive £22,000 in cash, plus a £2,000 bet, a day at the races, and a bespoke, leather-bound copy of the victorious book.

The Independent can't quite promise a prize as fabulous as that, but we do have a copy of each of the six shortlisted books to give away to one lucky reader. All you have to do to enter is answer the question below.

The six books on offer are 'Bounce' by Matthew Syed, 'Blood Knots' by Luke Jennings, 'Trautmann's Journey' by Catrine Clay, 'Open' by Andre Agassi, 'A Last English Summer' by Duncan Hamilton, and 'Beware Of The Dog' by Brian Moore. To read extracts from each book, click here , or on Andre Agassi's handsome face above.

The William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award is the world's longest-established and most valuable literary sports-writing prize. The judging panel for this year’s award consists of broadcaster and writer John Inverdale; award-winning journalist Hugh McIlvanney; broadcaster Danny Kelly; and columnist and author, Alyson Rudd. Chairman of the judging panel is John Gaustad, co-creator of the award and founder of the Sportspages bookshop.

The competition closes on Tuesday 23 December. To enter other competitions from the Independent, including a seven-night skiing holiday in Italy, click here.

To read the Independent's terms and conditions, click here.