Bridge

Click to follow
The Independent Culture
BRIDGE PLAYERS are usually very reticent about their disasters at the table, usually ascribing the blame to partner or, if heavily pressed, finally admitting to a "wrong view". Not so with my Danish colleague Ib Lundby, who went so far as to publish this deal in a recent IBPA Bulletin.

West opened One Spade, North doubled and, after a pass by East, Ib had a difficult bid.

Perhaps One and a half no-trumps would have been about right but, following the archaic rules of this game, he chose One no-trump and was pleased to be given another chance when North raised to Two. He went on to game and West led the queen of spades against Three no-trumps.

East unblocked with his king and, when this was allowed to win, continued spades. Declarer won the third round of the suit and started on the diamonds, studying the discards closely. East parted with a low club and West threw first the eight of hearts, then a low spade, and finally the king of hearts!

This was easy, thought Ib. It was quite clear (to him, at any rate) that West had started with 4Q J 10 9 7 4 !A K 8 #9 4 2xx. So he played off the ace of clubs and followed with another club from dummy. When the queen did not appear from East, he went up with his king, exuding quiet confidence. To his horror, West discarded the seven of hearts!

Of course, when you think about it, West's choice of discards could not possibly cost, but would it have occurred to you at the table?

Comments