Baftas 2014: List of film nominees in full

'Gravity' leads the nominations with 11 nods, including best film

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Box office blockbuster Gravity leads the Bafta 2014 nominations with 11 nods, but faces strong competition from Steve McQueen’s acclaimed film 12 Years A Slave.

Scroll to see the list in full

In a strong year for British film, Philomena, 12 Years A Slave and Gravity compete with American Hustle for the Best Film Award.

12 Years A Slave, which stars Chiwetel Ejiofor and Michael Fassbender, has received ten nominations, including Best Director for Steve McQueen and Best Actor for Ejiofor.

Philomena, which sees Judi Dench nominated for Best Actress, has earned four nominations, including Best Film and Best Adapted Screenplay.

Despite its predominantly American cast, the majority of Gravity’s crew were from the UK, where the film was shot.

The 3D blockbuster sees director Alfonso Cuarón nominated, alongside Sandra Bullock for Best Actress. Its special effects have also been recognised in the Cinematography, Special Visual Effects and Production Design categories.

List of nominees in full

Best Film

12 Years A Slave

American Hustle



Outstanding British Film


Mandela: long walk to freedom


Saving Mr. Banks

The Selfish Giant


12 Years A Slave, Steve McQueen

American Hustle, David O. Russell

Captain Phillips, Paul Greengrass

Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón

The Wolf of Wall Street, Martin Scorsese

Original Screenplay

American hustle

Blue Jasmine


Inside Llewyn Davis


Adapted Screenplay

12 Years A Slave, John Ridley

Behind the Candelabra, Richard LaGravenese

Captain Phillips, Billy Ray

Philomena, Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope

The Wolf of Wall Street, Terence Winter

Leading Actor

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Christian Bale, American Hustle

Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips

Leading Actress

Amy Adams, American Hustle

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks

Judi Dench, Philomena

Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper, American Hustle

Daniel Brühl, Rush

Matt Damon, Behind the Candelabra

Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

Julia Roberts, August: Osage County

Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Oprah Winfrey, The Butler

SallyHawkins, Blue Jasmine

Outstanding Debut by a A British Writer, Director or Producer

Colin Carberry (Writer), Glenn Patterson (Writer), Good Vibrations

Kelly Marcel (Writer), Saving Mr. Banks

Kieran Evans (Director/Writer), Kelly + Victor

Paul Wright (Director/Writer), Polly Stokes (Producer),  For Those in Peril

Scott Graham (Director/Writer) Shell

Film Not in the English Language

The Act of Killing

Blue is the Warmest Colour

The Great Beauty

Metro Manila 



The Act of Killing

The Armstrong Lie


Tim’s Vermeer We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks

Animated Film

Despicable Me 2


Monsters University

Original Music

12 Years A Slave 

The Book Thief

Captain Phillips


Saving Mr. Banks


12 Years A Slave

Captain Phillips


Inside Llewyn Davis



12 Years A Slave

Captain Phillips



The Wolf of Wall Street

Production Design

12 Years A Slave

American Hustle

Behind the Candelabra


The Great Gatsby

Costume Design

American Hustle

Behind the Candelabra

The Great Gatsby

The Invisible Woman

Saving Mr. Banks

Make Up & Hair

American Hustle

Behind the Candelabra

The Butler

The Great Gatsby

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug


All is Lost

Captain Phillips


Inside Llewyn Davis


Special Visual Effects


The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Iron Man 3

Pacific Rim

Star Trek into Darkness

British Short Animation

Everything I Can See From Here

I am Tom Moody

Sleeping with the Fishes

British Short Film

Island Queen

Keeping up with the Joneses

Orbit Ever After

Room 8

Sea View

The EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Dane Dehaan

George Mackay

Lupita Nyong’o

Will Poulter

Léa Seydoux

Watch the nominations announcement below: