Pitbull, Pharrell Williams and Daniel Radcliffe honoured with Hollywood Walk of Fame stars

Thirty entertainment industry professionals will receive stars in 2015

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Daniel Radcliffe, Melissa McCarthy and Pharrell Williams are among the 30 new honourees announced to receive stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2015.

A dedicated selection committee from the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce chose the individuals from hundreds of nominations in a meeting earlier this week.

Oscar-winning actor Christoph Waltz, World Cup rapper Pitbull, actress Jennifer Garner,Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane and The Lord of the Rings director Peter Jackson will also be included in the historic street monument, which comprises more than 2,500 stars embedded into the pavements.

There are also two posthumous stars for 2015 – one for screenwriter and novelist Raymond Chandler and another for Batman creator Bob Kane.

Cartoon character Snoopy will be awarded a star too, for his classic appearances in the Peanuts specials.


“The new selections represent the best of the entertainment industry and will be a great addition to the Walk of Fame for both the Hollywood community and fans from around the world who visit Hollywood every year,” said Maureen Schultz, chair of the committee.

Recipients have five years to schedule their ‘star ceremonies’ from the date of selection before they expire. Each year, around 24 of these events are broadcast around the world.

Director Stanley Kramer was awarded the first permanent star back in March 1960.