Tribeca Film Fest presents World Competition awards

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

The 9th annual Tribeca Film Festival held its award ceremony for films in the competition segment on April 29 in New York City. The awards were presented by co-founders actor Robert DeNiro and Jane Rosenthal, with more than $150,000 shared by the winning filmmakers.

In the World Competition the top honors went to When We Leave ( Die Fremde), a German film written and directed by Feo Aladag which won the Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature, and also took Best Actress in a Narrative Feature for Sibell Kekilli.

Also, the Best New Narrative Filmmaker went to Dog Pound, a French film by Kim Chapiron, and Best Actor in a Narrative Feature went to Eric Elmosnino for Gainsbourg, Je t'Aime...Moi Non Plus, a French film directed by Joann Sfar.

Best Documentary Feature prize went to Monica & David directed by Alexandra Codina and Best New Documentary Filmmaker went to Clio Barnard for the UK film The Arbor.

Winners for films in the New York competition were Monogamy directed by Dana Adam Shapiro written with Evan M. Weiner for Best New York Narrative and the Best New York Documentary is The Woodmans directed by C. Scott Willis.

In the Short Film category, Best Narrative Short is a South African film "Father Christmas Doesn't Come Here," directed by Bekhi Sibiya and written by Sibongile Nkosana and Bongi Ndaba and Best Documentary Short is "White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug", directed and written by Travis Senger

In the Virtual Category for the festival's inaugural Video-On-Demand, prizes went to Spork directed by J.B. Ghuman Jr. for Best Feature and Best Short went to "Delilah, Before" directed by Melanie Schiele.

The festival enjoyed several world premieres including the animated feature Shrek Forever After in 3D, Get Low with Bill Murray, and the US premiere for Neil Jordan's Ondine with Colin Farrell.

Screenings in the non-competition part of the festival continue through May 2.