Beastie Boys' 'Hot Sauce' expected to release May 3

Click to follow

Last week NME reported that Hot Sauce Committee Part 1, the seriously delayed eighth studio album by hip hop legends Beastie Boys, would see the light of day on April 18. But music news website Consequence of Sound confirmed on Feburary 25 that an EMI rep stated the new album will drop May 3 in the US (and presumably May 2 in the UK).

Last year, the band members reported that they weren't quite ready to release the expected Hot Sauce Committee Part 1 LP, which was originally due out September 2009. The group's Adam "MCA" Yauch also revealed he had cancer, thus delaying the album's release even further.

But now they plan to drop Part 2 prior to Part 1, and they stated that Part 2 would comprise the same 16 tracks originally slated for inclusion on Hot Sauce Committee Part 1. That is, minus the song "Bundt Cake."

"I know it's weird and confusing, but at least we can say unequivocally that Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 is coming out on time, which is more than I can say about Part 1, and really is all that matters in the end," stated Yauch late last year.

The new album will include a collaboration with rapper NAS titled "Too Many Rappers," which released in July 2009 and was nominated for a Grammy Award. Other tracks include a collaboration with rapper Santigold ("Don't Play No Game That I Can't Win")."

The full track listing is:

1. "Tadlock's Glasses"
2. "B-Boys In The Cut"
3. "Make Some Noise"
4. "Nonstop Disco Powerpack"
5. "OK"
6. "Too Many Rappers" (featuring NAS)
7. "Say It"
8. "The Bill Harper Collection"
9. "Don't Play No Game That I Can't Win" (featuring Santigold)
10. "Long Burn The Fire"
11. "Funky Donkey"
12. "Lee Majors Come Again"
13. "Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament"
14. "Pop Your Balloon"
15. "Crazy Ass Shit"
16. "Here's A Little Something For Ya"

Formed in 1981, Beastie Boys were nominated for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2011. Their 1986 debut album Licensed To Ill became the first hip hop record to reach number one on the US Billboard chart. The band has won three Grammy Awards and received critical acclaim for its albums such as Check Your Head, Ill Communication, and Hello Nasty, the latter of which hit number one on charts in the US, the UK, and Australia.

For some vintage Beastie Boys, check out their video for "No Sleep Till Brooklyn":