Eric Clapton to release star-studded studio album in September

Click to follow

Guitar icon Eric Clapton is set to release a studio album in September, according to an August 18 press release. Clapton will will touch on a range of styles and feature collaborations with JJ Cale, Steve Winwood, Wynton Marsalis, Sheryl Crow, and more.



Over the course of his more than 40-year career, Eric Clapton has performed as a member of Yardbirds and Cream, released 18 studio albums, and collaborated with musicians including B.B. King, Aretha Franklin, Frank Zappa and Howlin' Wolf. Clapton has been inducted three times into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and Rolling Stone has ranked him the fourth greatest guitarist of all time.

The new album will be Clapton's first solo studio release since 2005's Back Home, which peaked in the top 20 on UK and US album charts. Clapton is co-produced by guitarist and Doyle Bramhall II and features collaborations with singer-songwriter JJ Cale, drummer Jim Keltner, bassist Willie Weeks, and keyboardist Walt Richmond, as well as guests including Steve Winwood, Wynton Marsalis, Sheryl Crow, Allen Toussaint, and Derek Trucks.

Clapton calls the album "an eclectic collection of songs that weren't really on the map," while a press release describes the album's style as "everything from century-old traditional brass bands to little-known country blues to brand-new originals."

Clapton has performed some of the song's tracks, including "Rocking Chair" and "When Somebody Thinks "You're Wonderful," on recent tour dates.

'Clapton' track listing:

1. Travelin' Alone
2. Rocking Chair
3. River Runs Deep
4. Judgement Day
5. How Deep Is The Ocean
6. My Very Good Friend The Milkman
7. Can't Hold Out Much Longer
8. That's No Way To Get Along
9. Everything Will Be Alright
10. Diamonds Made From Rain
11. When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful
12. Hard Times Blues
13. Run Back To Your Side
14. Autumn Leaves

Clapton will be out on September 27 in most international locations and September 28 in the UK.