The Playlist: Sky Ferreira / The xx / The New Sins / Azealia Banks / Joey Bada$$ / Angel Olson / FUR


Click to follow
The Independent Culture


Sky Ferreira - Everything is Embarrassing

She’s been on the verge of ‘breaking out’ for the best part of 3-years now, but this track - produced by Blood Orange’s brilliant Dev Hynes - could be Sky Ferreira’s big moment.

The xx - Coexist (Album stream)

The xx’s second LP is a typically solemn, haunting affair led by sparse keyboards and gorgeous synthetic beats. Head over to to steam the album in its entirety.

The New Sins- Don’t Break My Heart

The latest track from New Young Pony Club keyboard player Lou Hayter’s side project is an excellent cover of the UB40’s 1985 single.

Azealia Banks - 1991

One day, if Ms Banks ever gets around to releasing her debut album, her steady stream of artsy hip hop releases may dry up. Until then, we’re happy to have her on our playlist every other week.

Joey Bada$$ - Home

Coming ‘fresh off tour’, according to the Brooklyn-based rapper, Home is a smooth hip hop track mixing Freddie Gibbs’ angst with ‘southern’ hip hop’s gurning immaturity.

Angel Olson - Acrobat

Taken from Olsen’s second album Half Way Home, which is released next week, Acrobat is dark, timeless folk mixed with smoky cabaret.

FUR - Reverie

More scratchy electronica from FUR. The Yonder EP, from which this track comes, was released last week.