Jimi Hendrix reissues for anniversary

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

In addition to a new album, Valleys of Neptune, with previously unreleased music from the legendary Jimi Hendrix, special editions of the guitarist's three studio albums are reissued to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the musician's death at the age of 27.

Though Hendrix only released four albums in his life, his outstanding music has been remastered from the original 2-track tapes by Eddie Kramer, his Electric Ladyland studio engineer for re-release by Sony Legacy.

Released March 9, the same day as Valleys of Neptune, each album includes a 36-page booklet with liner notes, photos and memorabilia, plus a DVD with a mini-documentary about the making of the albums, directed by Beatles Anthology creator Bob Smeaton. They include interviews with Jimi Hendrix Experience players Mitch Mitchell, Noel Redding and Billy Cox, and producer Chas Chandler.

Are You Experienced
This 1967 debut recording features an expanded collection of 17 tracks with Hendrix's first hits, including "Purple Haze," "Hey Joe," "Foxey Lady," and the title track with his signature fuzz guitar.

Axis: Bold As Love
The sophomore album from the Jimi Hendrix Experience highlights the guitarist's innovative experimentalism, while nodding to his soul and R&B influences. The 13 songs feature classics like "Castles Made of Sand," "Little Wing," and the Easy Rider anthem, "If 6 Was 9."

Electric Ladyland
Spotlighting Hendrix's singing, songwriting, and producing talents, as well as guitar, this 1968 record features guest appearances by Steve Winwood, Al Kooper, Chris Wood, and Buddy Miles. The 16 songs include "Voodoo Child," "Crosstown Traffic," and his rendition of Bob Dylan's "All Along the Watchtower."

First Rays of the New Rising Sun
Released under the supervision of his estate, his family's 1997 compilations shows Jim as innovator on 17 songs from March 1968 to the last sessions at Electric Lady Studios in 1970. Includes "Night Bird Flying," "Angel," "Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)," and "In From The Storm."

Smash Hits
A greatest hits collection of singles and B-sides with "Manic Depression," "The Wind Cries Mary" and 10 other classics such as "Purple Haze." Originally released in 1969, this package has a cover image by Dezo Hoffman.

Other releases this year include a DVD release of "Live at Woodstock," a multi-disc box set, and a new documentary to commemorate this influential musician.

In addition, a 17-date Experience Hendrix Tour 2010 swings across North America. This year's tour features Joe Satriani, Aerosmith's Brad Whitford, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepard, Ernie Isley, Los Lobos, and Living Colour. Plus bassist Billy Cox, Hendrix's buddy and fellow band member, performing music written by Hendrix.