Linkin Park to release 'A Thousand Suns' in September

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Grammy-winning American rock band Linkin Park is set to release its latest album, A Thousand Suns, on September 14, according to an announcement on July 8. In conjunction with the release, the band has organized a contest inviting fans to submit tracks based on lead single "The Catalyst" for a chance to be included on the final album.

The follow-up to 2007 album Minutes to Midnight, which debuted at number on album charts in 16 countries, A Thousand Suns is co-produced by Rick Rubin and band frontman Mike Shinoda. "The Catalyst," the album's first single, will begin hitting airwaves in August.

From July 9, audio stems from "The Catalyst" are available for download at Fans are invited to adjust the stems, record additional tracks, or use music production software to create their own songs, then upload them to the band's MySpace page. Site visitors will vote on versions, and a final winner will be chosen by the bandmates. Either the winning submission will be included on A Thousand Suns, or an individual musician will be invited into the studio to play a track with the band that will make it to the album.

Throughout the next four months, the band plans to continue to build its MySpace platform, ultimately giving fans worldwide access to live shows, exclusive content, and opportunities to interact with the musicians.

Linkin Park (vocalists Mike Shinoda and Chester Bennington, drummer Rob Bourdon, guitarist Brad Delson, DJ Joe Hahn, and bassist Dave "Phoenix" Farrell) has released three studio albums, which have sold 50 million copies worldwide, as well as collaborative albums including the mashup EP Collision Course with rapper Jay-Z.

The band is scheduled to make a European tour in the fall, showcasing material from A Thousand Suns for the first time.