Most blogged artists: lost track by Daft Punk surfaces

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

French trancemasters Daft Punk claim a top spot in The Hype Machine's most blogged artists chart on September 20 with the release of a lost track from 1994. Swedish music project Korallreven has also been a hot topic in recent days after releasing a new single featuring former Concretes lead singer Victoria Bergsman.

The Scottish techno label Soma was recently searching through old material for its upcoming triple-disc compilation and came across a previously unreleased Daft Punk track called "Drive." "The track offers an intriguing glimpse at the origins of an act that has gone on to headline festivals, score high-profile films, and influence a whole new generation of electronic music-makers," write Spin's Daily Noise blog.

Korallreven is the project of Swedish musicians Marcus Joons and Daniel Tjäder (the latter is also a member of indie pop band The Radio Dept.). The band is prepping its debut full-length after releasing a mixtape, and teased a new single called "As Young as Yesterday" that blogger The Culture of Me describes as "a pulsing and building glitch anthem." The single comes with remixes from artists Panda Bear and Girl Unit, and a limited edition 12" version of the songs is now available via the label Acephale.

The 10 most blogged artists on The Hype Machine on September 20 at 9:30 GMT:

Florence + The Machine (no change)
Korallreven (no change)
Twin Shadow (+1)
Neon Indian (+3)
Daft Punk (+4)
Atlas Sound (reentry)
Girls (-2)
Friends (no change)
Royal Headache (-3)
Justice (-7)

Launched in 2005, The Hype Machine aggregates information from more than 1,000 music blogs worldwide. Known for identifying up-and-coming artists, the site enables music fans to easily find out what music is hot in the blogosphere and to instantly hear and buy mp3s.

Listen to Daft Punk's "Drive":