Most blogged artists: UK DJ Gold Panda drops new track, tour dates

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

British remix master Gold Panda is a hot topic in the music blogosphere, thanks to the release of a new track and announcement of tour dates in the US and UK through the fall. American indie band Bon Iver holds the top spot in The Hype Machine's most blogged artists chart, while Brazilian pop act CSS claims a spot in the day's top ten on June 23.

Gold Panda recently dropped a new electronic track on his website MPB that blogger Real Horrorshow Tunes ( describes as "sounding like a lone rainmaker shaking up against some kind of supercomputer's contorted insides." His first tune to drop this year after two recent EPs, the track is "a multi-layered instrumental featuring Gold Panda's signature warmth and thoughtful layering," adds blog Mixtape Muse ( Gold Panda is playing a set at Glastonbury and will tour the UK and US through October 30.

Brazilian electro-garage-pop band CSS, Cansei De Ser Sexy, is another hot topic in the blogs with the release of a new track, "Hits Me Like A Rock," from their forthcoming and third album, La Liberación, set to release August 29. Featuring guest vocals from Primal Scream's Bobby Gillespie, "this single is bubbling over with some serious pop energy, something the band have always had in bucketloads," writes blog Kick Kick Snare (

The 10 most blogged artists on The Hype Machine on June 23 at 11:00 GMT:

Bon Iver (no change)
Washed Out (+1)
Gold Panda (reentry)
The Weeknd (-2)
CSS (-1)
The Antlers (+1)
The Cool Kids (new)
Beastie Boys (-3)
Wild Flag (new)
Southern Shores (new)

Launched in 2005, The Hype Machine aggregates information from more than 1,000 music blogs worldwide. Known for identifying up-and-coming artists, the site enables music fans to easily find out what music is hot in the blogosphere and to instantly hear and buy mp3s.

Listen to an audio-only clip of CSS's new track:

Check out vintage CCS in their first international single, "Let's Make Love and Listen to Death from Above" from their self-titled debut LP: