Adele leads Ivor Novello nominations


Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Adele's success looks set to continue as the singer-songwriter picked up a string of nominations for the Ivor Novello Awards.

Click here to launch a guide to this year's nominees

'Rolling In The Deep' was nominated for Best Song Musically and Lyrically, while her album 21 is in the running for Best Album.

She also dominated the category for the most performed track of 2011 with two out of three songs - 'Rolling In The Deep' and 'Someone Like You' - in the shortlist. The third track is Take That's 'The Flood' - the first song to feature Robbie Williams since his return to the band.

The annual awards - in their 57th year - are highly prized because they are voted for by songwriters and composers.

Adele faces competition from Florence + The Machine and Ed Sheeran in the battle for Best Song Musically and Lyrically, who are nominated for 'Shake It Out' and 'The A Team' respectively.

The award for Best Contemporary Song is between Nero for 'Promises', James Blake for 'The Wilhelm Scream' and Lana Del Ray's debut 'Video Games', which she co-wrote with Justin Parker from Lincoln.

There is an all-female shortlist for the album award with Kate Bush's 50 Words For Snow and PJ Harvey's Mercury Prize-winning Let England Shake in the running with Adele.

Radiohead star Jonny Greenwood gets a nod in the Best Original Film Score category for his work on We Need To Talk About Kevin.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel, central London, on Thursday May 17, where a number of honorary awards will also be handed out.

The nominations in full

Best Song Musically and Lyrically:

'Rolling In The Deep' - Adele

'Shake It Out' - Florence + The Machine

'The A Team' - Ed Sheeran

Best Contemporary Song:

'Promises' - Nero

'The Wilhelm Scream' - James Blake

'Video Games' - Lana Del Rey

Best Original Film Score:

Life In A Day - Harry Gregson-Williams and Matthew Herbert

The First Grader - Alex Heffes

We Need To Talk About Kevin - Jonny Greenwood

Best Television Soundtrack:

Leonardo - Mark Russell

Page Eight - Paul Englishby

The Shadow Line - Martin Phipps

PRS for Music Most Performed Work:

'Rolling In The Deep' - Adele

'Someone Like You' - Adele

'The Flood' - Take That

Album Award:

21 - Adele

50 Words For Snow - Kate Bush

Let England Shake - PJ Harvey