Brit Awards 2014: Critics' Choice Award shortlists Chlöe Howl, Ella Eyre and Sam Smith

The three new acts are hotly-tipped for success next year

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Chlöe Howl, Ella Eyre and Sam Smith have been shortlisted for the Brit Awards 2014 Critics’ Choice Award, after being tipped by a panel of experts for commercial success next year.

Music editors from national newspapers, websites and magazines have teamed up with the heads of music at major radio and TV stations to judge who will be announced the winner of the prestigious prize next week.

Signed to Columbia Records within weeks of leaving school, 18-year-old Chlöe Howl has been compared to Kate Nash and Lily Allen and has already supported John Newman on tour.

“I’ve followed the paths of the Brits Critics’ Choice artists since Adele won the first one when I was twelve,” she said. “To be on the shortlist is incredible and to be alongside two amazing artists is an honour.”

Ella Eyre, 19, is a former Brit School student, best known for her collaborations with Rudimental on “Waiting All Night” and Naughty Boy and Wiz Khalifa on “Think About It”. She has also worked with indie pop band Bastille and her debut EP Deeper is released later this month.

Fresh from topping the UK Official Singles Chart with "La, La, La", a collaboration with London producer Naughty Boy, Sam Smith also featured on Disclosure’s “Latch”.

All three acts feature on the BBC's Sound of 2014 longlist alongside hotly-tipped artists Royal Blood, Sampha and Luke Sital-Singh.

Launched in 2008, the Critics’ Choice Award identifies rising stars of British recording before their music hits the mainstream.

Tom Odell picked up last year's award, while the 2012 prize was won byEmeli Sandé. Other winners have included Jessie J, Ellie Goulding, Florence & the Machine and Adele.

Any signed artist set to release their debut album in 2014 is eligible for the award and over 100 from a range of genres were considered.

Nominations for The Brit Awards 2014 will be announced in January before a live ITV broadcast from the O2 Arena on Wednesday 19 February.