James 'La Petite Mort' album stream – exclusive first listen

The Manchester septet are back with their first full-length album in six years

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

James fans are in for a treat as the Manchester band return with their first full-length album in six years.

Released on Monday, La Petite Mort includes singles “Moving On” and “Frozen Britain”, and can be streamed exclusively in its entirety below.

Frontman Tim Booth has penned the 10-track album’s lyrics, with many of the songs about mortality written in the wake of losing both his mother and best friend in quick succession.

Max Dingel has produced, after winning acclaim for his work with Muse, The Killers and White Lies.

Bassist Jim Glennie spoke about La Petite Mort in February, explaining how making the album “stretched us and the songs and pushed us to new heights in craftsmanship and intensity”.

James have enjoyed a 32-year career since forming in 1982, with classic hits including “Laid”, “Sit Down” and “She’s A Star”.

To date, the group have sold more than 12 million albums worldwide, with their last release being 2010 mini-albums The Night Before and The Morning After.

The seven-piece are set to headline Camp Bestival and Summer in the City later this year, with more major festival dates to be announced soon. They will play Latitude on 19 July, sharing a stage with Bombay Bicycle Club and Damon Albarn.

James will also embark on a UK arena tour in November, playing two London shows at the Royal Albert Hall and Brixton Academy.

“We feel we’ve made one of our strongest albums in La Petite Mort and are ‘dying’ to reveal our live take on it,” Booth said.

La Petite Mort can be pre-ordered now from Amazon and iTunes