MTV EMAs 2014: One Direction and 5 Seconds of Summer win big as Slash performs live

Slash performed Global Icon Ozzy Osbourne's hit 'Crazy Train' in Glasgow

Click to follow

One Direction headed up the winners list at the MTV European Music Awards in Glasgow last night, taking home three major awards.

The British boy band won for Best Pop Act, Best Live Act and Biggest Fans but were unable to collect their trophies in person after opting to perform on The X Factor results show instead (the group were former contestants).

MTV EMAs 2014 winners list

Katy Perry, 5 Seconds of Summer and Ariana Grande all won two awards, while host Nicki Minaj picked up the prize for Best Hip-Hop Act. Pharrell Williams lost out on Best Male to Justin Bieber.

Black Sabbath frontman Ozzy Osbourne collected the Global Icon award from Guns N’ Roses guitarist Slash, who later performed Ozzy's 1980 hit "Crazy Train" with Biffy Clyro.

"For four decades the Prince of Darkness has rocked anyone who dared to listen," Slash said. "This is a guy who does not know how to do ordinary. He scares the hell out of most people and all bats. But to me is a gentle man and a gentleman."

In typical Ozzy style, the singer thanked and blessed his fans for coming before adding "I don't know where they got this icon s**t from".


Scottish DJ Calvin Harris won Best Electronic Act but had to cancel a scheduled performance after reportedly tweeting that he was suffering from "heart problems".

Other performers at the time travel-themed ceremony included Ed Sheeran, Kiesza, Alicia Keys and U2.