Pixies to release first studio album Indie Cindy in over two decades

The Massachusetts rockers' new record will be out for Record Store Day 2014

Click to follow

US rock band Pixies are set to release a new record, twenty-three years after their last studio album.

Scheduled for UK release on 28 April, Indie Cindy will include songs from two earlier EP releases alongside their 2013 single “Bagboy”.

Three further songs which will feature on Indie Cindy appeared on the group’s official website yesterday afternoon.

“We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago,” said drummer David Lovering. “New music seemed like something we just had to do, we just couldn’t continue to go out and tour without anything new.

“So the talk evolved into writing and recording and we’re all very happy with the way everything worked out.”

Pixies will release Indie Cindy in a variety of formats on their independent label, Pixiemusic.

Track names include “What Goes Boom”, “Magdalena 318”, “Silver Snail” and “Snakes” while the cover art(below) has been designed by graphic designer and past collaborator Vaughan Oliver.


Frontman Black Francis, guitarist Joey Santiago and Lovering have five studio albums to their name after forming in 1986. Their last record, Trompe Le Monde, was released in 1991.

Pixies split in 1993 but have performed on multiple occasions since after reuniting 11 years later. Recent performances have included the iTunes Festival in Camden last September and forthcoming summer appearances at London’s Field Day and Manchester’s Summer in the City.

Indie Cindy will first be available as a special limited edition on 19 April, from worldwide independent record stores participating in Record Store Day.