Album: Various artists, Way to Blue - The Songs of Nick Drake (Navigator)

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

A boiling-down of hours of recordings from Joe Boyd's live Drake project starring, inter alia, Vashti Bunyan, Green Gartside, Teddy Thompson and, especially echt-ly, the Australian duo Luluc.

Danny Thompson, Zoe Rahman and Neill MacColl execute in-keeping arrangements by Kate St John and Robert Kirby. All is hush. A genuinely empathetic production, then, which does not pull up many trees – but then trees are usually best left where they are, to grow.