Caught in the net: Reid all about it with London Grammar


Click to follow
The Independent Culture

UK trio London Grammar release their debut album, If You Wait, on 9 September. Ahead of that they release the “Stronger” single EP on the first of the month. Theirs is a minimalist, downbeat electro-meets-organic instrumentation sound à la The xx with singer Hannah Reid's vocals reminiscent of Florence Welch. The B-side from the EP, “Feelings”, highlights their finely controlled abilities and is streaming at It veers dangerously close to oh-so tasteful wine-bar-based background music but it's an affecting effort nonetheless. Meanwhile, in a similar moody electro vein is the new song from LA singer Banks. “Waiting Game” produced by Sohn, finds Banks purring her vocals over heavy, bassy, dubstep-infused beats and synth waves. Hear it at

Souleyman's track is too good to miss

Celebrated Syrian musician Omar Souleyman (pictured) has dropped the title track from his new album, Wenu Wenu, which is released in October. The track, produced by Four Tet's Kieran Hebden, is an incessant, pulsing affair, with guitars and beats wailing, fusing more traditional Middle Eastern sounds and vocals with Souleyman's brand of techno. The song, which can be downloaded from iTunes, is also streaming at

TV on the Radio are back with a rocker

It's a little over two years since TV on the Radio released their last album, Nine Types of Light. Shortly before its release multi-instrumentalist band-member Gerard Smith died from lung cancer, which naturally cast a long shadow over the album. The Brooklyn band have now returned with their first new music since then, offering up the fast, rollicking new single called “Mercy”. It's an almost straightforward rocky affair and rather a grower. The band have seemingly split in unhappy circumstances from Interscope records, with new material being released through their producer/guitarist Dave Sitek's own label Federal Prism. Hear the track at Sitek has an ambitious slate of releases on the way through Federal Prism, with tracks from Oh Land and Telepathe – both sparkling electro-pop bursts – as well as a loud rocking number from Cerebral Ballsy also streaming on Soundcloud.