THEATRE: Darktales; Arts Theatre, London

Everybody can recognise what George Orwell was getting at when he drew a distinction between Good Books and Bad Books - by Good Books he meant fundamentally serious, thoughtful works, books intended to elevate as well as entertain the reader; while Bad Books are the pulp and schlock, the Jilly Coopers and Dick Francises that take entertainment to be literature's only true aim. The same categories can be applied to any art-form - plays, paintings, music. The important point is that Goodness and Badness are not judgements of quality but descriptions of genre, so that you can have bad Good books and good Bad books.

The dichotomy is a useful critical tool; but while the general principles seem simple enough, it can be hard to apply them in individual cases. Darktales is one such case: is Tim Arthur's wordy chiller a really terrible Good play, or a rather good Bad play? Something of both, perhaps.

The plot concerns a confrontation, in a quiet room during a party, between two writers of horror stories. Alex Crowther (an assured performance by Andrew Hall) is an ageing, upper-class purveyor of supernatural yarns, apparently in the vein of MR James; Jack Langton (Jamie Hinde) is a young, chippy, unpublished author of tales of urban violence. Langton attacks Crowther's sort of literature; but this turns out to be a cover for an issue that really bothers him - what has happened to Lucy, the girl he loves, who was last seen leaving a party with Crowther a couple of weeks earlier? Crowther deflects the argument over the girl into a story-telling competition - his artificial thrills versus Langton's realistic terror.

Considered as a Good play, Darktales has terrible flaws. The dialogue is clumsy, the arguments about literary style cliched and sterile. There is also the more fundamental problem that the genres under examination are too flimsy to bear the aesthetic weight that Arthur tries to place on them. The differences between MR James and a contemporary writer like, say, Dean Koontz are ones of period and convention; you can't make this, as Arthur tries to do, a struggle between "art as beauty" and "art as life". Nevertheless, in imposing these categories, Arthur does manage to create a sense of ambition and complexity that makes it hard to pass the play off as merely Bad.

It's when it shows its worst side that the play comes off best. Even as a straightforward Bad play, it has problems - the sub-plot about the girl isn't convincingly integrated, the denouement is hammy and predictable. But the stories within the play are brilliantly performed (Hinde's urban myth about a lurking psycho is a minor tour de force) and immensely enjoyable. Karen Louise Hebden's production makes a hearty meal out of the stories. Lighting, music and sound effects are deployed brilliantly, so that even while you are aware how corny the stories are, it's hard to ward off the creeping tension. You may not be scared, but you can appreciate the air of scariness.

To 4 January. Booking: 0171-836 3334

Robert Hanks

Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Arts and Entertainment

ebooksNow available in paperback
Arts and Entertainment

ebooks
Arts and Entertainment
theatre
Arts and Entertainment
Place Blanche, Paris, 1961, shot by Christer Strömholm
photographyHow the famous camera transformed photography for ever
Arts and Entertainment
The ‘Westmacott Athlete’
art
Arts and Entertainment
‘The Royals’ – a ‘twisted, soapy take on England’s first family’
tv Some of the characters appear to have clear real-life counterparts
News
Brooks is among a dozen show-business professionals ever to have achieved Egot status
people
Arts and Entertainment
A cut above: Sean Penn is outclassed by Mark Rylance in The Gunman
film review
Arts and Entertainment
arts + ents
Arts and Entertainment
James Franco and Zachary Quinto in I Am Michael

Film review Michael Glatze biopic isn't about a self-hating gay man gone straight

Arts and Entertainment
A scene from the movie 'Get Hard'
tvWill Ferrell’s new film Get Hard receives its first reviews
Arts and Entertainment
Left to right: David Cameron (Mark Dexter), Nick Clegg (Bertie Carvel) and Gordon Brown (Ian Grieve)
tvReview: Ian Grieve gets another chance to play Gordon Brown... this is the kinder version
Arts and Entertainment
Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman in the first look picture from next year's Sherlock special

TV
Arts and Entertainment
Because it wouldn’t be Glastonbury without people kicking off about the headline acts, a petition has already been launched to stop Kanye West performing on the Saturday night

music
Arts and Entertainment
Molly Risker, Helen Monks, Caden-Ellis Wall, Rebekah Staton, Erin Freeman, Philip Jackson and Alexa Davies in ‘Raised by Wolves’

TV review
Arts and Entertainment

TV
Arts and Entertainment
James May, Jeremy Clarkson and Richard Hammond in the Top Gear Patagonia Special

TV
Arts and Entertainment
Game of Thrones will run for ten years if HBO gets its way but showrunners have mentioned ending it after seven

Game of Thrones
Arts and Entertainment
Mans Zelmerlow will perform 'Heroes' for Sweden at the Eurovision Song Contest 2015

music
Arts and Entertainment
Elizabeth (Heida Reed) and Ross Poldark (Aiden Turner) in the BBC's remake of their 1975 original Poldark

Poldark review
  • Get to the point
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?

ES Rentals

    Independent Dating
    and  

    By clicking 'Search' you
    are agreeing to our
    Terms of Use.

    Election 2015: How many of the Government's coalition agreement promises have been kept?

    Promises, promises

    But how many coalition agreement pledges have been kept?
    The Gaza fisherman who built his own reef - and was shot dead there by an Israeli gunboat

    The death of a Gaza fisherman

    He built his own reef, and was fatally shot there by an Israeli gunboat
    Saudi Arabia's airstrikes in Yemen are fuelling the Gulf's fire

    Saudi airstrikes are fuelling the Gulf's fire

    Arab intervention in Yemen risks entrenching Sunni-Shia divide and handing a victory to Isis, says Patrick Cockburn
    Zayn Malik's departure from One Direction shows the perils of fame in the age of social media

    The only direction Zayn could go

    We wince at the anguish of One Direction's fans, but Malik's departure shows the perils of fame in the age of social media
    Young Magician of the Year 2015: Meet the schoolgirl from Newcastle who has her heart set on being the competition's first female winner

    Spells like teen spirit

    A 16-year-old from Newcastle has set her heart on being the first female to win Young Magician of the Year. Jonathan Owen meets her
    Jonathan Anderson: If fashion is a cycle, this young man knows just how to ride it

    If fashion is a cycle, this young man knows just how to ride it

    British designer Jonathan Anderson is putting his stamp on venerable house Loewe
    Number plates scheme could provide a licence to offend in the land of the free

    Licence to offend in the land of the free

    Cash-strapped states have hit on a way of making money out of drivers that may be in collision with the First Amendment, says Rupert Cornwell
    From farm to fork: Meet the Cornish fishermen, vegetable-growers and butchers causing a stir in London's top restaurants

    From farm to fork in Cornwall

    One man is bringing together Cornwall's most accomplished growers, fishermen and butchers with London's best chefs to put the finest, freshest produce on the plates of some of the country’s best restaurants
    Robert Parker interview: The world's top wine critic on tasting 10,000 bottles a year, absurd drinking notes and New World wannabes

    Robert Parker interview

    The world's top wine critic on tasting 10,000 bottles a year, absurd drinking notes and New World wannabes
    Don't believe the stereotype - or should you?

    Don't believe the stereotype - or should you?

    We exaggerate regional traits and turn them into jokes - and those on the receiving end are in on it too, says DJ Taylor
    How to make your own Easter egg: Willie Harcourt-Cooze shares his chocolate recipes

    How to make your own Easter egg

    Willie Harcourt-Cooze talks about his love affair with 'cacao' - and creates an Easter egg especially for The Independent on Sunday
    Bill Granger recipes: Our chef declares barbecue season open with his twist on a tradtional Easter Sunday lamb lunch

    Bill Granger's twist on Easter Sunday lunch

    Next weekend, our chef plans to return to his Aussie roots by firing up the barbecue
    Joe Marler: 'It's the way I think the game should be played'

    Joe Marler: 'It's the way I think the game should be played'

    The England prop relives the highs and lows of last Saturday's remarkable afternoon of Six Nations rugby
    Cricket World Cup 2015: Has the success of the tournament spelt the end for Test matches?

    Cricket World Cup 2015

    Has the success of the tournament spelt the end for Test matches?
    The Last Word: Justin Gatlin knows the price of everything, the value of nothing

    Michael Calvin's Last Word

    Justin Gatlin knows the price of everything, the value of nothing