Breakfast radio host battle: Chris Evans versus Christian O'Connell at the Sony Awards 2013


Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Chris Evans will take on the Today programme and Christian O'Connell for best breakfast show at the Sony Awards.

They will fight it out with reigning champs Rickie, Melvin and Charlie from Kiss FM and Radio 3's Breakfast for the prestigious title tonight. Radio 1's Nick Grimshaw failed to make the shortlist.

Broadcaster Danny Baker, who was memorably axed by Radio London last year and signed off his years on the station by going on air for a two-hour rant about his treatment, is up for two prizes at the awards including speech broadcaster of the year.

The BBC Radio 5 Live presenter faces competition from station colleagues Nicky Campbell and Victoria Derbyshire as well as the World Service's Stephen Sackur and Radio 4's Eddie Mair - who memorably gave Boris Johnson a hard time in a TV interview last month.

Baker's show is also up for best entertainment programme, battling Geoff Lloyd's Hometime Show (Absolute Radio), Radio 1's Greg James, 1Xtra's Charlie Sloth and former Big Brother winner Kate Lawler (Kerrang!).

Sloth is also in the running for music radio personality of the year in a varied category which sees him against Classic FM's John Suchet, 6 Music's Lauren Laverne, Absolute's O'Connell and Radio 2's long-standing mid-morning host Ken Bruce.

One of the most prized awards of the event - station of the year - will see Classic FM and Radio 5 Live taking on the BBC Asian Network, a station which three years ago had been earmarked for closure.

Last year the title was taken by 6 Music which was proposed for the chop at the same time, but was similarly reprieved after an outcry.

Today programme veteran John Humphrys - whose tough grilling of George Entwistle prompted his early departure from the role of BBC director-general after only 54 days in the job - is shortlisted for the title of radio journalist of the year. He is up against Radio 4's Becky Milligan, the Capital East Midlands News Team, Radio 4's Jon Donnison and Key 103's Michelle Livesey.

Former chart star Cerys Matthews - who had a string of hits with her band Catatonia - is among the contenders for music radio broadcaster of the year. She is up against jazz musician Jamie Cullum and Johnnie Walker - both Radio 2 - as well as 6 Music's Mark Radcliffe and Stuart Maconie and Suzy Klein who presents for Radios 3 and 4.

Other well-known chart figures are up for best music programme, with Jarvis Cocker nominated for his 6 Music show Sunday Service, and Rolling Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood in the running for his Absolute Radio programme. Also in the category are Radio 2's Dermot O' Leary, 6 Music's Lauren Laverne and Radio 1's Zane Lowe.

Presenters Richard Keys and Andy Gray - who landed a talkSPORT show shortly after they were axed from TV in a sexism row - will have a chance to defend the best sports programme title they collected in 2012.

Chris Evans will host the 2013 Awards Ceremony tonight at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Radio listeners have also been voting for their favourite presenters with the winner taking the inaugural Sony Golden Headphones Award.