Heads or Tails: The previous weeks' answers

Click to follow
The Independent Online

WEEK 1

Saturday 10th Jan Yesterday, the FTSE 100 closed at 4448.54. When it closes on Monday, do you think it will be higher or lower? Lower

Tuesday 13th Jan The warmest temperature in Britain yesterday, according to The Independent's weather report on page 36, was 12c. Do you think today's warmest temperature will be higher or lower? Lower

Wednesday 14th Jan The pound closed at €1.10142 yesterday, as reported on page 37 of The Independent. Higher

Thursday 15th Jan When it closes today, will the pound be higher or lower? Higher

Friday 16th Jan Yesterday, the FTSE 100 closed at 4121.11. When will the closing value of the FTSE 100 be at the end of today's trading? 4142.86



WEEK 2

Saturday 17th Jan On Monday night Liverpool play Everton in the Premier Lesgue. The last time Liverpool played at home, three goals were scored. Do you think the total number of goals scored on Monday night will be higher or lower? Lower

Tuesday 20th Jan George W Bush's inauguration speech in 2005 lasted 21 minutes. Will the number of minutes taken by Barack Obama's address today be higher or lower? Lower

Wednesday 21st Jan The share price of Royal Bank of Scotland closed at 10.3p yesterday. Will it end today's trading higher or lower? Higher

Thursday 22nd Jan The pound closed at $1.36617 yesterday, as reported on page 37 of The Independent. When it closes today will it be higher or lower? Lower

Friday 23rd Jan The Dow Jones index of US share prices has suffered a turbulent week amind concern about the state of banks? What do you think the index's closing price will be tonight? 8076.25



WEEK 3

Saturday 24th Jan On Friday the FTSE 100 index closed at 4052.47. When it closes on Monday, will it be higher or lower? Higher

Tuesday 27th Jan Four goals were scored when Manchester United played at home to West Bromwich Albion in the Premier League this season. Will the number of goals scored in tonight's return match be higher or lower? Higher

Wednesday 28th Jan Will US interest rates be higher or lower after today's announcement by the US Federal reserve? Higher

Thursday 29th Jan The London price of Shell (A) shares, the oil company which announces its results this morning, closed at 1776p last night. Will the share price be higher or lower when it closes today? Higher

Friday 30th Jan What will the total number of runs scored in today's play in England's cricket match againse the West Indies A side? 325



WEEK 4

Saturday 31st Jan The combined share price of Barclays, RBS and Lloyds was 218.8p at the close of trading last night. Will their combined share price be higher or lower when the market closes on Monday? Lower

Tuesday 3rd Feb According to The Independent's weather report on page 34, London was colder that Aberdeen yesterday. Will today's temperature in London be higher or lower than the temperature in Aberdeen? Higher

Wednesday 4th Feb Last time England played the West Indies at Sabina Park, in 2004, nine wickets fell on the first day's play. Will the number of wickets that fall on the first day of this year's test - which starts today - be higher or lower? Lower

Thursday 5th Feb According to the report on page 39, the pound closed at 1.45 against the dollar last night ahead of today's decision on UK interest rates. Will the pound's value be higher or lower against the dollar when it closes tonight? Higher

Friday 6th Feb What will be the closing price of the Dow Jones index of US shares tonight? 8280.59



WEEK 5

Saturday 7th Feb. Barclays' share price closed at 104.8p on Friday, ahead of its profits announcement on Monday morning. Will its shares close higher or lower at the end of trading on Monday. There was an error in the paper. Everybody who took part went through to the next round.

Tuesday 10th Feb. The pound closed at 1.14385 against the euro on Monday night. Will it end Tuesday's trading higher or lower against the euro? Lower

Wednesday 11th Feb: The last time England's football team played Spain, the game was won by Spain 1-0. Will the winning margin in tonight's match between the teams be higher or lower? Higher

Thursday 12th Feb: Lloyds was the biggest faller in the FTSE 100 yesterday, closing at 87.4p. Will its share price close higher or lower at the end of trading today? Higher

Friday 13th Feb: What will be the closing price of the FTSE tonight? 4189.59





Week 6

Saturday 14th Feb: The price of a barrel of oil closed at $45.30 on Friday night, according to page 53 of The Independent's business section on Saturday. Will the closing price be higher or lower on Monday night? * Lower

Tuesday 17th Feb: 301 runs were scored on the first day of England's third test against the West Indies. Will the number of runs scored in Tuesday's play be higher or lower? * Lower

Wedneday 18th Feb: Manchester United scored four goals in their last match. Will the number of goals they score in Wednesday night's game against Fulham be higher or lower? * Lower

Thursday 19th Feb: RBS was the biggest faller in the FTSE 100 on Wednesday, with its share price closing at 18.1p. Will it shares be higher or lower at the close of trading on Thursday? * Higher





Week 7

Saturday 21st March: The FTSE 100 index of UK shares closed at 3842.85 on Friday night. At the end of trading on Monday, will it be higher or lower? * Answer was higher.

Tuesday 24th March: Barclays shares closed at 121.5p on Monday, one of the stongest performers in the FTSE 100. Will Barclays' share price close Higher or Lower after Tuesday's trading. * Answer was lower.

Wednesday 25th March: Sainsbury's share price ended 10.2p up at 330.75p on Tuesday ahead of this morning's trading statement. Will the share price close higher or lower after Wednesday's trading? * Answer was lower.

Thursday 26th March: Next's share price ended 30p down at 1295p on Wednesday ahead of Thursday morning's results announcement. Will the share price close higher or lower after Thursday's trading? * Answer was lower.

Friday 27th March: The FTSE 100 index closed at 3925.20 last night. Where will it close at the end of Friday's trading? * Answer was 3898.85



Week 8

Saturday 28th March: The pound closed against the dollar at $1.42907 on Friday night. Will it close higher or lower against the dollar at the end of trading on Monday night? * Answer was lower

Tuesday 31 March: Lloyds shares were among the worst performers on the stock market on Monday, closing down 11.3p at 64.8p. Will the shares close higher or lower at the end of Tuesday's trading? * Answer was higher

Wednesday 1 April: M&S shares were among the best performers on the stock market on Tuesday, closing at 296p. Will the shares close higher or lower at the end of Wednesday's trading? * Answer was higher

Thursday 2 April: Barclays shares were among the best performers on the stock market on Wednesday, closing at 157p. Wil the shares close higher or lower at the end of Thursday's trading. * Answer was higher

Friday 3 April: The FTSE 100 index closed at 4124.9 on Thursday night. Where will it close at the end of Friday's trading? * Answer was 4029.6.

Comments