Rallying: The 2010 Dakar Rally route - Facts

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The route for the 32nd edition of the Dakar Rally, announced Tuesday by organisers, which begins in Buenos Aires on January 1 and ends in the Argentine capital on January 16.

Held over approximately 9,000 km the race passes through Chile and will spend seven days in the Atacama desert, known by experts as the driest desert in the world.

In brackets total distances/specials.

January 1: Buenos Aires - Colon (317 km)

January 2: Colon - Cordoba (652km/219km special for motorbikes, 684km/251km special for cars)

January 3 janvier: Cordoba - La Rioja (626km/294km special for motorbikes, 687km/355km special for cars)

January 4: La Rioja - Fiambala (441km/182km special)

January 5: Fiambala - Copiapo (629km/203km special)

January 6: Copiapo - Antofagasta (670km/483km special)

January 7: Antofagasta - Iquique (598km/418km special)

January 8: Iquique - Antofagasta (641km/600km special)

January 9: rest day

January 10: Antofagasta - Copiapo (568km/472km special)

January 11: Copiapo - La Serena (547km/338km special)

January 12: La Serena - Santiago (586km/238km special)

January 13: Santiago - San Juan (434km/220km special)

January 14: San Juan - San Rafael (796km/476km special)

January 15: San Rafael - Santa Rosa (725km/368km special)

January 16: Santa Rosa - Buenos Aires (707km/206km special)