It was one of those might-have-beens on this deal from the Iceland- Yugoslavia match in the Generali European Championships. The bidding followed much the same course at both tables. When South opened 1H, West overcalled with 1S and the final contract was 4H played by South.

In real life, West started with the SA and, at one table, switched to a cunning C5. This defence set declarer no problems at all. At the other table West, more accurately, continued spades at trick two and, later in the play, declarer (after trying a club to the queen unsuccessfully) finessed the C10 to go one down.

It really was a text-book hand. After winning with the SK, declarer should ruff a spade in hand and draw trumps. Then he tackles diamonds. East does best to win and exit with a diamond but, after taking his diamond winners, South has a complete count of his opponents' hands, for West is now marked as having started with six spades, two hearts, at least three diamonds, and therefore at most two clubs. Solution? A low club to the king and then simply play another club for West to concede a ruff and discard.