What is Kosher food? A brief explanation...
Kosher foods are permissible products that have been prepared according to Jewish laws
A Sainsbury’s store in London has come under fire after it cleared its shelves of Kosher foods.
It decided on the move after fearing that it could be targeted by a group of pro-Palestinian demonstrators that had gathered outside calling for a boycott of Israeli goods, but just what is kosher food? Below is a brief guide:
What is Kosher food?
It is foodstuff that has been suitably prepared according to Jewish law.
Kosher principles are laid out in the Torah and the rules abide by those set out by Kashrus – the comprehensive Jewish dietary laws.
What are the primary rules?
Meat and dairy must be completely separated, which means they cannot be cooked or eaten together.
Kosher kitchens contain separate sets of utensils and preparation areas to ensure this is followed. It also means that dairy and meat cannot be served on the same table.
According to Kosher certification organisation Badatz Igud Rabbonim KIR, the rule was interpreted from the Torah, which states: “You may not cook a young animal in the milk of its mother” (Ex.23:19).
It also means a person must wait an interval of between one and three hours after eating meat before eating dairy.
The only Kosher animals, for all intents and purposes, are cows, sheep and goats, while Kosher poultry includes chicken, duck, turkey, geese and pigeon, says KF Kashrus, another Kosher certification agency.
Permissible animals must have cloven hooves as well as chew the cud, and must be slaughtered according to laws in the Torah, with the animal’s death to be as instantaneous as possible.
The religious slaughter must also include the removal of the animal’s blood, prohibited fats and veins.
Dairy produce is only Kosher if it derives from one of the animals aforementioned and it must not contain non-Kosher additives or products, however small, within it.
Fish can only be eaten if it has fins and scales – such as tuna, herring and salmon – whereas shellfish like crabs and lobsters are prohibited.
Pareve foods are those that are neither meat nor diary and thus are considered ‘neutral’, such as vegetables, grains and fruit.
However, because the consumption of insects is forbidden, some fruit liable to infestation must also be scrutinised.
Chocolate and other sweet snacks must be Kosher certified and be processed using equipment that abides by the dietary laws. Chocolate can be either ‘dairy certified’ or ‘pareve’.
What about drinks?
Alcohol is generally Kosher but drinks that derive from the grape, such a wine or port, are subject to strict constraints surrounding their production.
Spirits must be made from sugar or grain.
Life & Style blogs
This restaurant has misunderstood the concept of 'cheese and biscuits'
My life as a Jew in wartime Berlin: How I outwitted the Gestapo
Tinder Plus: premium service launches, charging much more for those over 28
Running test reveals whether you will die in the next decade
Have sex with your iPad thanks to the new sex toy no-one asked for
- 1 This restaurant has misunderstood the concept of 'cheese and biscuits'
- 2 Delhi bus rapist blames dead victim for attack because 'girls are responsible for rape'
- 3 PornHub turns masturbation into energy in bid to save the planet
- 4 Have sex with your iPad thanks to the new sex toy no-one asked for
- 5 The 'sex selfie stick' lets you FaceTime the inside of a vagina
iJobs Food & Drink
£12500 - £13520 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Experienced Hotel Receptionists...
£12500 - £13520 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Located on the stunning Sandban...
Negotiable: Recruitment Genius: Qualified Lifeguards are required to join a fa...
£19000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Based in South Kensington, this prestigi...