BAFTA Video Games Awards to be streamed live on March 16

The British Academy Video Games Awards will be streamed live to the net on Wednesday, March 16 when the show starts at 8pm GMT.

The ceremony presents retrospective awards across sixteen categories for the top titles of 2010, including Best Game, Family, Handheld, Action, Sports, Ones To Watch, and the Game Award as voted for by visitors to the BAFTA Game Award website.

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood leads the nomination count with seven, and there are plenty of other strong contenders, including Mass Effect 2, Super Mario Galaxy 2, Black Ops and Heavy Rain.

The 8pm UK start time is equivalent to 1pm PDT (California, British Columbia), 4pm EDT (New York, Ontario), 9pm CET (Central and Western Europe), and 4am in Singapore, Malaysia, and Western Australia.

The server load will be shared by games news site IGN, which is teaming up with BAFTA for the broadcast, meaning that there are three websites hosting official streams for the presentation evening.

BAFTA Video Games Awards
IGN's BAFTA microsite
BAFTA dedicated Game Award voting site