iPad 2 rumor recap and how to watch Apple's March 2 press event live on the web

Apple is holding a press event at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts theater in San Francisco on March 2 and you can watch all the announcements as they unfold live on the web.

The event will take place at 6PM GMT on March 2 and analysts and technology bloggers (and just about everyone who follows Apple) believe Apple will use the event to unveil the second generation iPad.

Want to know what Apple will announce before the event? Have a look at some of the iPad 2 rumors circling the web:

Top iPad 2 rumors:
- One or two cameras
- Slightly thinner and lighter iPad
- Smaller bezel around display
- 512MB of RAM
- Dual core processor (A5?)
- Louder speaker on lower left corner
- A wireless chip that supports both GSM and CDMA networks
- Gyroscope
- Thunderbolt port
- Same price

Additional less-likely rumors:
- A better (high resolution) display
- Built-in stand
- 7-inch version
- White version
- SD card slot

To follow live coverage of the event, visit one of the following blogs at the times listed below.

Event times in your local region:
March 2
Hawaii: 7:00AM
Los Angeles: 10:00AM
New York: 1:00PM
London: 6:00PM
Paris: 7:00PM
Moscow: 9:00PM
Mumbai: 10:30PM

March 3
Tokyo: 3AM
Sydney: 5AM

Live blog coverage of the event:
Engadget - http://www.engadget.com/2011/03/02/live-from-apples-ipad-2-event
Mobile Crunch - http://www.mobilecrunch.com/2011/03/01/live-blog-apple-ipad-2-event/
Gdgt - http://live.gdgt.com/
TUAW - http://www.tuaw.com/2011/03/02/apple-ipad-2-event-metaliveblog/
CNET - http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-20037801-37.html
ZDNet - http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/reminder-apple-ipad-2-event-march-2nd-live-coverage/11642
Gizmodo - http://live.gizmodo.com/
Razorianfly - http://www.razorianfly.com/2011/02/27/our-live-coverage-of-apples-ipad-2-media-event-kicks-off-this-wednesday-from-530pm-gmt-join-us/
iLounge - http://live.ilounge.com/
Technologizer - http://technologizer.com/ipad2/
Igyaan - http://igyaan.in/2011/03/ipad-2-launch-even-is-today-we-will-cover-it-live/

Apple will post the March 2 press event keynote on its Apple Events webpage after the keynote takes place:
http://www.apple.com/apple-events/

Life and Style
ebookNow available in paperback
ebooks
ebookPart of The Independent’s new eBook series The Great Composers
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating
and  

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

ES Rentals

    iJobs Job Widget
    iJobs Gadgets & Tech

    Recruitment Genius: Software Developer - C# / ASP.NET / SQL

    £17000 - £30000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Developer required to join a bu...

    Recruitment Genius: Software Consultant / 1st Line Support

    £15000 - £25000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: As your knowledge grows you wil...

    Ashdown Group: Systems Engineer - Linux - Central London

    £40000 - £48000 per annum + Benefits: Ashdown Group: Systems Engineer - Linux ...

    Recruitment Genius: Technical Support and Sales Engineer - UC / M2M / IoT

    £20000 - £30000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: This leading provider of Cloud ...

    Day In a Page

    'It was first time I had ever tasted chocolate. I kept a piece, and when Amsterdam was liberated, I gave it to the first Allied soldier I saw'

    Bread from heaven

    Dutch survivors thank RAF for World War II drop that saved millions
    Britain will be 'run for the wealthy and powerful' if Tories retain power - Labour

    How 'the Axe' helped Labour

    UK will be 'run for the wealthy and powerful' if Tories retain power
    Rare and exclusive video shows the horrific price paid by activists for challenging the rule of jihadist extremists in Syria

    The price to be paid for challenging the rule of extremists

    A revolution now 'consuming its own children'
    Welcome to the world of Megagames

    Welcome to the world of Megagames

    300 players take part in Watch the Skies! board game in London
    'Nymphomaniac' actress reveals what it was really like to star in one of the most explicit films ever

    Charlotte Gainsbourg on 'Nymphomaniac'

    Starring in one of the most explicit films ever
    Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi: The Emirates' out-of-sight migrant workers helping to build the dream projects of its rulers

    Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi

    The Emirates' out-of-sight migrant workers helping to build the dream projects of its rulers
    Vince Cable interview: Charging fees for employment tribunals was 'a very bad move'

    Vince Cable exclusive interview

    Charging fees for employment tribunals was 'a very bad move'
    Iwan Rheon interview: Game of Thrones star returns to his Welsh roots to record debut album

    Iwan Rheon is returning to his Welsh roots

    Rheon is best known for his role as the Bastard of Bolton. It's gruelling playing a sadistic torturer, he tells Craig McLean, but it hasn't stopped him recording an album of Welsh psychedelia
    Russell Brand's interview with Ed Miliband has got everyone talking about The Trews

    Everyone is talking about The Trews

    Russell Brand's 'true news' videos attract millions of viewers. But today's 'Milibrand' interview introduced his resolutely amateurish style to a whole new crowd
    Morne Hardenberg interview: Cameraman for BBC's upcoming show Shark on filming the ocean's most dangerous predator

    It's time for my close-up

    Meet the man who films great whites for a living
    Increasing numbers of homeless people in America keep their mobile phones on the streets

    Homeless people keep mobile phones

    A homeless person with a smartphone is a common sight in the US. And that's creating a network where the 'hobo' community can share information - and fight stigma - like never before
    'Queer saint' Peter Watson left his mark on British culture by bankrolling artworld giants

    'Queer saint' who bankrolled artworld giants

    British culture owes a huge debt to Peter Watson, says Michael Prodger
    Pushkin Prizes: Unusual exchange programme aims to bring countries together through culture

    Pushkin Prizes brings countries together

    Ten Scottish schoolchildren and their Russian peers attended a creative writing workshop in the Highlands this week
    14 best kids' hoodies

    14 best kids' hoodies

    Don't get caught out by that wind on the beach. Zip them up in a lightweight top to see them through summer to autumn
    Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi: The acceptable face of the Emirates

    The acceptable face of the Emirates

    Has Abu Dhabi found a way to blend petrodollars with principles, asks Robert Fisk