The Writers Guild of America has announced the nominees in the 2011 category for outstanding achievement in video game writing, naming staff who worked on Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Fallout: New Vegas, and God of War III among them.

The WGA has been including video games in its award ceremonies since 2008, and February 5's 63rd Annual Writers Guild Awards will once again see simultaneous events occurring in Los Angeles and New York as fresh accolades are dished out.

Of the writers nominated, Marianne Krawczyk appears twice, once for her story credit in God of War III, and once more for her editing work in Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands.

Previous winners include Amy Hennig for Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PlayStation 3), the quartet of Haden Blackman, Shawn Pitman, John Stafford and Cameron Suey for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed (multi-format),
and Dave Ellis and Adam Cogan for Dead Head Fred (PSP).

To be eligible for nomination, the video game in question must have been released between December 1, 2009 and November 30, 2010, and it must have separate writing credits and writers who were already members of (or applying to join) the WGA at the time of the game's release.

2011 Writers Guild Awards Videogame Writing Nominees
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360, PlayStation 3; Windows PC pending)
Fallout: New Vegas (Windows PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360)
God of War III (PlayStation 3)
Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands (Windows PC, Xbox 360
Singularity (Windows PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360)
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (DS, iOS, Windows PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Wii)

Writers Guild Awards website: