The Volkswagen Polo has been confirmed as the winner of the European Car of the Year 2010 Award.

The Polo beat competition including the Citroen C3 Picasso, Mercedes E-Class, Opel/Vauxhall Astra, Toyota iQ supermini, Peugeot 3008 MPV and the Skoda Yeti MPVto take the prize on November 30. Toyota's iQ took second place and the Opel/Vauxhall Astra third.

Volkswagen first picked up the European Car of the Year Award in 1992 with the Golf and 18 years later, all 59 jury members (a pool of motoring journalists) from 23 European countries gave points to the Polo. Twenty-five jury members chose it as their favorite, whilst 20 chose the Toyota iQ and five ranked the Opel/Vauxhall Astra at the top.

Previous European Car of the Year Winners

2009 - Opel/Vauxhall Insignia
2008 - Fiat 500
2007 - Ford S-Max
2006 - Renault Clio
2005 - Toyota Prius

Search for used cars