Nine to Five: Mary Campbell

Name

Mary Campbell, 54

Occupation

Walking-tour leader

Salary

pounds 3,500 plus expenses

Address

Grange, Cumbria

What do you do?

Most of the year Martin, my husband, and I run walking holidays from our house in the Lake District. He does the catering and cleaning while I take out parties of up to 12 on walks with Tiger, our lurcher crossbreed. We can put up only six guests here - the rest have to stay with neighbours - but we cater for everyone around our large dining-room table. Between December and March we head for the German-speaking parts of the Continent where we run cross-country skiing holidays for Waymark, a company specialising in walking and skiing holidays abroad.

So, are the hills alive with the sound of music?

People, more like. We get everyone from young people to the over-50s. Walking is a great leveller; it doesn't matter if you are an orthopaedic surgeon or a lavatory cleaner, we don't ask. Walkers are very friendly, they are not demanding in the way people on package holidays might be. They're there to walk, have a meal and not worry about the facilities.

What happens if they're not very fit?

Sometimes you get men with a beer gut who've had too many business lunches and who struggle a bit. Women are generally fitter while these men think they're going to have a heart attack. Men and schoolteachers tend to bite off more than they can chew. We encourage people to walk at a pace they can keep up.

Bet you're a veritable mountain goat, though...

Not until I've got myself sorted and done my own morning routine.

Which is?

Up at 6:30. After a cup of coffee I put on my in-line skates and take Tiger for a walk. We go a lot further with the skates and it's good training for the cross-country skiing. On return I'll have my breakfast and start preparing vegetables for dinner. Then we split: the dog and I do the walk and Martin the cooking. He serves guests a traditional English breakfast and makes up packed lunches. Parties come from Saturday to Saturday. The walk itself will start at 10am and will last until five, with two or three breaks depending on the weather. In that time we might cover 11 or 12 miles and climb 3,500 feet.

Ooh, the agony. What about the evening?

Martin will have prepared the main meal which we eat as one big party, then we might have a slide show of places we have visited and there are also slide shows in the town which people go to. Often people are soaked down to their bra and knickers so we throw their dirty clothes into our domestic washing machine - it is quicker than drying them.

And meanwhile the kids...

No, we made a conscious choice not to have children before we married. They wouldn't fit into our lifestyle when you're out of the country five months a year. One year I spent only 11 days at home.

What's home like?

It's a large Victorian place with a great view of Morecambe Bay. It has five bedrooms as well as a guest dining room and lounge. We filled it with artefacts, souvenirs and photographs from places we've visited all over the world. There are posters of mountain gorillas up the stairs.

How do you afford to maintain it on your earnings?

Well, we couldn't afford if we didn't already own the house. We don't have a mortgage. I used to lecture on economics and get lots of money and always used it up. But the life we lead means that we need hardly any money. Our lifestyle is different from that of the people who come to us. Some of them would think nothing of paying pounds 65 for a restaurant meal. If we had that same amount of money we'd spend it on a banquet for 50. We don't eat convenience foods and there are plenty of charity shops where we can buy clothes. If I want anything special I make it myself. If it looks like we're going to earn so much money it puts us into a tax bracket, we will shut down the operation and lead for other companies or just take off on our own.

Grangeways: 01539-535329

PROMOTED VIDEO
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Life and Style
ebookNow available in paperback
Life and Style
ebooksA superb mix of recipes serving up the freshest of local produce in a delicious range of styles
Arts and Entertainment
Kieron Richardson plays gay character Ste Hay in Channel 4 soap Hollyoaks
tv

Regular cast member Ste Hay, played by Kieron Richardson, is about to test TV boundaries

Life and Style
tech
Life and Style
techPerils of 'text neck' revealed
News
i100
News
Stonewall CEO Ruth Hunt
peopleStonewall boss says many fear it could ruin their careers
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating
and  

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

ES Rentals

    iJobs Job Widget
    iJobs General

    Argyll Scott International: FP&A Manager Supply Chain

    Benefits: Argyll Scott International: Argyll Scott is recruiting for a Permane...

    Austen Lloyd: Commercial Property NQ+

    £30000 - £50000 per annum + EXCELLENT: Austen Lloyd: COMMERCIAL PROPERTY SOLI...

    Argyll Scott International: Retail Commercial Finance Analyst

    Benefits: Argyll Scott International: Due to further expansion, a leading inte...

    Langley James : Senior Technician; Promotion & Training Opp; Borough; upto £32k

    £27000 - £32000 per annum + training: Langley James : Senior Technician; Promo...

    Day In a Page

    Synagogue attack: Fear unites both sides of Jerusalem as minister warns restoring quiet could take 'months'

    Terror unites Jerusalem after synagogue attack

    Rising violence and increased police patrols have left residents of all faiths looking over their shoulders
    Medecins sans Frontieres: The Ebola crisis has them in the headlines, but their work goes far beyond West Africa

    'How do you carry on? You have to...'

    The Ebola crisis has Medecins sans Frontieres in the headlines, but their work goes far beyond West Africa
    Isis extends its deadly reach with suicide bombing in Kurdish capital

    Isis extends its deadly reach with suicide bombing in Kurdish capital

    Residents in what was Iraq’s safest city fear an increase in jihadist attacks, reports Patrick Cockburn
    Underwater photography competition winners 2014 - in pictures

    'Mysterious and inviting' shot of diver wins photography competition

    Stunning image of cenote in Mexico takes top prize
    Sir John Major: Negative West End portrayals of politicians put people off voting

    Sir John Major hits out at theatres

    Negative West End portrayals of politicians put people off voting
    Kicking Barbie's butt: How the growth of 3D printing enabled me to make an army of custom-made figurines

    Kicking Barbie's butt

    How the growth of 3D printing enabled toy-designer to make an army of custom-made figurines
    Will Smith's children have made waves with a gloriously over-the-top interview, but will their music match their musings?

    What are Jaden and Willow on about?

    Will Smith's children have made waves with a gloriously over-the-top interview, but will their music match their musings?
    Fridge gate: How George Osborne keeping his fridge padlocked shows a frosty side to shared spaces

    Cold war

    How George Osborne keeping his fridge padlocked shows a frosty side to shared spaces
    Stocking fillers: 10 best loo books

    Stocking fillers: 10 best loo books

    From dogs in cars to online etiquette, while away a few minutes in peace with one of these humorous, original and occasionally educational tomes
    Malky Mackay appointed Wigan manager: Three texts keep Scot’s rehabilitation on a knife-edge

    Three texts keep Mackay’s rehabilitation on a knife-edge

    New Wigan manager said all the right things - but until the FA’s verdict is delivered he is still on probation, says Ian Herbert
    Louis van Gaal: the liberal, the enemy and... err, the poet

    Louis van Gaal: the liberal, the enemy and... err, the poet

    ‘O, Louis’ is the plaintive title of a biography about the Dutchman. Ian Herbert looks at what it tells us about the Manchester United manager
    Isis in Iraq: Baghdad hails the retaking of the Baiji oil refinery as the start of the long fightback against the Islamist militants

    Isis takes a big step back

    Baghdad hails the retaking of the Baiji oil refinery as the start of the long fightback against the Islamist militants
    Bill Cosby: America’s beloved TV ‘dad’ or serial rapist?

    Bill Cosby: America’s beloved TV ‘dad’ or serial rapist?

    Ukip silk bow ties, Green Party T-shirts, and 'Iron Baby' romper suits: How to shop politically

    How to shop politically

    Ukip silk bow ties, Green Party T-shirts, and 'Iron Baby' romper suits
    The science of sex: What happens when science meets erotica

    Sex on the brain

    Fetishes, dominatrixes, kinks and erotica. They are subjects that should get the crowds flocking to a new exhibition at the Wellcome Collection