The answers to our Literary Valentines competition, in association with Waterstone's, were as follows:

1/ Holly Golightly (Truman Capote's Breakfast at Tiffany's); 2/ Ma Larkin (H E Bates's The Darling Buds of May); 3/ Mellors (D H Lawrence's Lady Chatterley's Lover); 4/ Jay Gatsby (F Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby); 5/ Holden Caulfield (J D Salinger's Catcher in the Rye); 6/ John Self (Martin Amis's Money); 7/ Captain Ahab (Herman Melville's Moby Dick); 8/ Katherina (Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew); 9/ Tarquin Winot (John Lanchester's The Debt to Pleasure); 10/ Moll Flanders (Daniel Defoe).

The winners of a pounds 75 Waterstone's voucher are "Clare, Julia and Karen" at the Poetry Book Society, London SW18. Three runners-up win pounds 50 vouchers: A C Jenkins of Twickenham, Susan McWhirter of Dunblane, and Yvonne McLean of Manningtree.