Members of new Lloyd's body named

Click to follow
The Independent Online
THE MEMBERS of the new body that will be responsible for developing the business of Lloyd's of London were announced yesterday by David Rowland, the incoming chairman of the troubled insurance community.

David Rowland is to be chairman of Lloyd's Market Board and the chief executive officer will be Peter Middleton, the recently appointed chief executive of the entire market.

The other members will be seven Lloyd's professionals: Simon Arnold, Michael Cockell, Robert Hiscox, Alan Jackson, Richard Keeling, Stephen Merrett and Philip Wroughton. There will also be representatives of associations covering various types of business. Those names are Alan Colls, Terry Pitron, John Stace, and Colin White.

Andy Coppell and Andrew Duguid, senior executives at the Corporation of Lloyd's, the administrative body of the market, also have places.

The establishment of the new board follows an inquiry into Lloyd's future development by a team led by Mr Rowland, which recommended that the management of Lloyd's should be split between two boards.