Trafalgar adds two non-executives to board

Click to follow
TRAFALGAR HOUSE, the Ritz Hotel to housebuilding group, which has recently undergone a management shake-up, yesterday appointed two new non-executive directors, writes Heather Connon.

Cob Stenham, chairman of Arjo Wiggins Appleton, and Richard Evans, chief executive of British Aerospace, join Alan Clements, the deputy chairman, Sir Archibald Forster, the Conservative MP David Howell, Tony Ryan, Rodney Leach and Sir Colin Powell as non-executives.

The latter two are appointees of Hongkong Land, the property company controlled by the Jardine Matheson empire, which owns 25 per cent of Trafalgar. Simon Keswick, a Jardine and Hongkong Land director, became chairman last month.

The appointments are the latest in a series of boardroom changes since Hongkong Land launched a dawn raid on the group in October. Sir Nigel Broackes, who founded the group, stepped down as chairman, while Sir Eric Parker resigned as chief executive. He ceases to be deputy chairman at the end of the month.

The finance director, John Ansdell, left yesterday to be replaced by David Gawler, who held the same position at Hongkong Land. Dermot McDermott, who ran the shipping and hotels businesses, leaves during the month.

Yesterday's appointments, which have been promised since the dawn raid, mean that the boardroom changes are largely complete, although some in the City believe that Mr Ryan - who heads the troubled GPA aircraft leasing group - and David Howell may also stand down.