Diana's memorial committee is named

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Earl Spencer will attend meetings of the newly formed Diana, Princess of Wales, Memorial Committee when he is in Britain, although he is not a member, the Chancellor, Gordon Brown, said yesterday.

The 10-strong committee, headed by Mr Brown, includes film maker Lord Attenborough (who introduced Diana to the anti-landmines campaign which became her highest-profile charity work), Diana's sister Lady Sarah McCorquodale, her butler Paul Burrell, the Princess's friend Rosa Monckton, divorce solicitor Anthony Julius, former overseas development minister Baroness Chalker and Lord Chamberlain, Lord Airlie, who represents the Royal Household. Comic Relief co-founder and charity worker Jane Tewson is also a committee member along with Diane Louise Jordan, an ex-Blue Peter television presenter.

The committee will consider possible memorials of the late Princess, who died in a Paris car crash nearly three months ago. Mr Brown said 7,000 proposals for memorials had been received from members of the public.

"Diana, Princess of Wales, was greatly loved, and I consider it an honour to have been asked by the Prime Minister to chair this important committee," he said. "The public have responded magnificently to my request for proposals for commemorating the work of the Princess of Wales. Every one of the 7,000 proposals so far has been carefully read and every one will be taken into account."

The committee will be assisted by an advisory group of representatives from all the main political parties and by a further group drawn from the charities which the Princess supported. Membership of these groups will be announced shortly.