Political writers win our vote

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The winners of the political writing section of the Motorola Youth Parliament Competition organised by the Citizenship Foundation and judged by Judith Judd, Education Editor of the Independent are:

Age group 11-14 for a leaflet on a law I would like to change: Sarah Riesner, of Bournville School, Griffin Brook Lane, Birmingham, on football violence.

Age group 11-14-year-olds for a political column: Chris Noel and Jonathan Senior, Soham Village College, Ely, Cambridgeshire for a column on identity cards.

Age group 15-18-year-olds for a political column or leader: Alastair Whitehead, Omagh Academy, Dublin Road, Omagh for a column on the arms trade.