Major honours loyal workers in resignation list

Click to follow
Resignation Honours List


Dame Janet Fookes, former Deputy Speaker and former MP for Plymouth Drake.

Dame Jill Knight, former MP for Birmingham Edgbaston and former vice- chairman of 1922 Committee.


Norman Blackwell, former head of policy unit in the Prime Minister's office.

Roger Freeman, former Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

Lord James Douglas-Hamilton, former Scottish Office minister.

Sir Terence Higgins, former Treasury minister.

David Hunt, former secretary of state for Wales, and for employment, also a former Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

Ian Lang, former Scottish secretary and President of the Board of Trade.

Tony Newton, former social security secretary and former Leader of the Commons.

Sir Cranley Onslow, former chairman of the Conservative backbench 1922 Committee.


Robert Atkins, former Northern Ireland and environment minister.

Peter Brown, constituency agent to John Major.

Michael Forsyth, former Scottish Secretary.

Anthony Garrett CBE, director of the campaigning department at Conservative Central Office.

Brian Mawhinney, former Tory Party chairman, now shadow home secretary.

Richard Needham, former trade and industry minister.

Neville Trotter, former Conservative MP for Tynemouth.

John Ward, Parliamentary private secretary to John Major from 1994 to 1997.


Michael Heseltine, former deputy prime minister, and current Conservative MP for Henley.


Alastair Goodlad, former Tory chief whip and current international development spokesman.

Jeremy Hanley, former Tory Party chairman and former defence and foreign office minister.

Malcolm Rifkind, former foreign secretary, former Scottish, transport and defence secretary.


John Holmes, Private Secretary (Overseas Affairs), Prime Minister's Office


Jonathan Haslam, former chief press secretary at Number 10.

Howell James, former political secretary at Number 10.

Professor Ian, Baron McColl of Dulwich, former Parliamentary private secretary to the Prime Minister's Office.

Michael Trend, deputy chairman of the Conservative Party since 1995.


Mark Adams, private secretary (Parliamentary Affairs), Prime Minister's Office.

John Bridge, constituency chairman to John Major.

Trevor Butler, Detective Superintendent, Metropolitan Police.

Daniel Finkelstein, director of research at Conservative Central Office.

Gina Hearn, constituency secretary to John Major.

Charles Lewington, former director of communications at Conservative Central Office.

Eileen, Lady Strathnaver, former special adviser to Michael Heseltine.

Andrew Woods, former agent to John Major.

Moira Wallace, private secretary (Economic Affairs), Prime Minister's Office.


Deborah Ailes, senior personal secretary, Prime Minister's Office.

Noelle Berney, co-ordinator of Kurdish Life Aid (for humanitarian services).

Maureen Bick, cleaner, Prime Minister's Office.

James Bridges, former assistant political secretary, Prime Minister's office.

Penelope Brook, head of speakers' department, Conservative Central Office.

Christine Ferns, switchboard supervisor, Prime Minister's Office.

Vanessa Ford, head of chairman's office at Conservative Central Office.

Sheila Gunn, press officer, Conservative Central Office.

Leading Wren Linda Lalley, Royal Navy, stewardess at Chequers.

Judy Moorhouse, former secretary to the political secretary, Prime Minister's Office.

Lorne Roper-Caldbeck, secretary to Norma Major.

Robert Rumble, driver to John Major.

Arabella Warburton, former personal assistant in the Prime Minister's Office.

Michael York, messenger, Prime Minister's Office.

Prime Minister's honours:


(nominating parties in brackets)


Valerie Amos, director Amos Fraser Bernard (Lab).

Helena Kennedy QC (Lab).

Jill Pitkeathley OBE, chief executive Carers National Association, member of the Health Advisory Service (Lab).

Veronica Linklater, chairman The New School Butterstone, trustee Esmee Fairbairn Charitable Trust, trustee Cancer Care, Western General Hospital (Lib Dem).

Sarah Ludford, barrister, Islington councillor, European Affairs consultant (Lib Dem).

Diana Maddock, former Lib Dem MP for Christchucrh (Lib Dem).

Emma Nicholson, former Tory, then Lib Dem MP for Devon West and Torridge (Lib Dem).

Ruth Rendell CBE, author (Lab).

Patricia Scotland QC (Lab).

Barbara Scott Young, chief executive, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (Lab).


Steven Bassam, head of environmental health and consumer issues at the Local Government Association. (Lab).

Clive Brooke, joint general secretary, Public Services Tax and Commerce Union (Lab).

Tom Burlison, deputy general secretary of the GMB and Labour Party treasurer (Lab).

Sir John Cope, former deputy Tory Party chairman.

Bryan Davies, former secretary to the Parliamentary Labour Party (Lab).

David Davies CBE, general secretary of the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers (Lab).

Navnit Dholakia OBE, member of the Lib Dem Federal Executive and Federal Policy Committee, member of the Police Complaints Authority (Lib Dem).

Sir William Goodhart QC (Lib Dem).

James Gordon CBE, chairman, Scottish Radio Holdings plc (Lab).

Peter Hardy, former Labour MP for Wentworth (Lab).

Norman Hogg, former Deputy Chief Whip 1983 to 1987 (Lab).

Robert Hughes, former Labour spokesman on agriculture and transport (Lab).

Roy Hughes, former Labour spokesman on Welsh Affairs, former member of the Council of Europe (Lab).

Philip Hunt OBE, chief executive, National Health Service Confederation (Lab).

Sir Anthony Jacobs, vice-president Social and Liberal Democrats 1988, chairman Federal Executive, Social and Liberal Democrats (Lib Dems).

Greville Janner QC, former Labour MP for Leicester West, honorary vice- president of the World Jewish Congress (Lab).

Tristan Garel-Jones, former Foreign Office minister and former deputy chief whip (Con).

Michael Levy, director of M and G Records, president of Jewish Care (Lab).

Sir Hector Monro, former Scottish Office and Environment Minister (Con).

Michael Montague CBE, chairman of Superframe plc, chairman Montague Multinational Ltd, formerly chairman English Tourist Board (Lab).

Alf Morris, former Minister for the Disabled (Lab).

Michael Morris, former Commons Deputy Speaker (Con).

Richard Newby OBE, director of the Matrix Communications Consultancy Ltd, Director of External Communication, Lib Dem general election team 1996-97 (Lib Dem).

Stan Orme, former social security minister and Cabinet member (1977 to 1979), chairman Parliamentary Labour Party 1987 to 1992 (Lab).

Sir David Puttnam CBE, film producer (Lab).

Stuart Randall, former Labour spokesman on agriculture and home affairs (Lab).

Timothy Razzall CBE, Lib Dem Richmond councillor, Lib Dem treasurer (Lib Dem).

Sir Robin Renwick KCMG, director Robert Fleming Holdings Ltd, chairman Save & Prosper Group, UK ambassador to South Africa from 1987 to 1991 and to USA from 1991 to 1995 (Lab).

Sir Wyn Roberts, former Welsh Office minister (Con).

David Sainsbury, chairman and chief executive of J Sainsbury plc (Lab).

Sir Michael Sandberg CBE, former chairman of the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation from 1977 to 1986 and the British Bank of the Middle East from 1980 to 1986 (Lib Dem).

George Simpson, managing director of General Electric Company plc (Lab).

Sir Trevor Smith, vice chancellor and honorary professor, University of Ulster (Lib Dem).

Andrew Stone, joint managing director, Marks and Spencer plc (Lab).

Terence Thomas CBE, managing director, Cooperative Bank (Lab).

Sir Harold Walker, former deputy speaker of the Commons (Lab).

Michael Watson, former Labour MP for Glasgow Central (Lab)