Dave Brown named Political Cartoonist of the Year

Click to follow

Dave Brown of The Independent was named as Political Cartoonist of the Year last night.

Michael Portillo presented him with the award yesterday evening at the offices of The Economist. Judges from the Political Cartoon Society, who chose Brown from a field of the 50 cartoonists on national newspapers, praised his "talent, energy and inspiration".

They said: "He employs a wealth of references and demonstrates wonderful draughtmanship. His consistency of quality and variety of wonderful ideas prevent him from becoming a tired raconteur at a party." They also praised his "fresh, varied and innovative journalism."