Haul of British Press Award nominations for The Independent


Click to follow
The Independent Online

The Independent’s journalism has been recognised with  11 nominations for this year’s British Press Awards, with sister titles i, The Independent on Sunday and the London Evening Standard also well represented on the shortlists.

Education Editor Richard Garner and Travel Editor Simon Calder were both nominated in the Specialist Journalist of the Year category.

Ian Herbert was shortlisted as Sports Journalist of the Year. The Independent’s Hillsborough coverage was listed for Front Page of the Year, where it will compete against The Independent on Sunday’s “Happy and Glorious” Olympics splash.

The investigative team behind The Independent’s Sex for Fees exposé – Charlotte Philby, Jonathan Brown, Cahal Milmo, Matthew Moore and Oliver Duff – which highlighted the sexual exploitation of female students, has been nominated for the Cudlipp Award, recognising excellence in popular journalism.

Dominic Lawson is nominated as Columnist of the Year, Grace Dent for Critic of the Year, Dave Brown for Cartoonist and Charlie Cooper for Young Journalist. The Independent Magazine is short-listed for Supplement of the Year. The design and production teams of both The Independent and i are shorlisted for their work.

The Independent on Sunday’s Jane Merrick is shortlisted for Political Journalist of the Year.

The Evening Standard received four nominations: Joshi Herrmann for Young Journalist; Nick Curtis for Interviewer; Newspaper of the Year; and Production and Design.