Click to follow
The Independent Online
Sir Brian Bailey, former chairman, Television South West, 75; Major Sir Shane Blewitt, former Keeper of the Privy Purse, 63; Mr Humphrey Burton, writer and broadcaster, 67; Sir Kenneth Carlisle, former MP, 57; Mr Lawrence Cunliffe MP, 69; Mr Stephen

Dorrell MP, 46; Professor Mary Douglas, anthropologist, 77; Professor Sir Raymond Firth, anthropologist, 97; Mr Ronald Flanagan, Chief Constable, RUC, 49; Professor Sir Patrick Forrest, surgeon, 75; Mr Robert Fox, impresario, 46; Miss Aretha Franklin, soul singer, 56; Sir Peter Gibbings, former chairman, Anglia TV, 69; Mr John Giffard, Chief Constable, Staffordshire, 46; Mr Paul Michael Glaser, actor, 54; General Sir James Glover, former Commander-in-Chief, UK Land Forces, 69; Mr David Hicks, interior designer, 69; Sir Elton John, rock singer, 51; The Most Rev Alwyn Rice Jones, Archbishop of Wales, 64; Mr Nick Lowe, rock performer and composer, 49; Sir Bernard Miller, former chairman, John Lewis Partnership, 94; Mr Leif Mills, general secretary, Banking, Insurance and Finance Union, 62; Lord Quinton, former chairman of the Board, British Library, 73; Ms Christine Russell MP, 53; Miss Dorothy Squires, singer, 83; Mr William Taylor, Commissioner, City of London Police, 51; Lord Walker of Worcester, former MP, 65; Mr Michael Whitlam, Director-General, British Red Cross Society, 51; Mr Keith Whitson, chief executive, Midland Bank, 55.