Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr David Simpson and Mr Peter Spencer Wallis, to be Metropolitan Stipendiary Magistrates.

Mr Anthony Graham Hume Jones, to be a Circuit Judge.

Sir Francis McWilliams, to be a Bencher, the Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn.

Mr Edward Cohen, to be joint district judge for the district of Willesden County Court.

Sir Dennis Walters, to be Chairman of the Trustees of the newly formed Persistent Virus Disease Research Foundation; Professor John Hughes, to be Chairman of the Research Committee; Mr Hugh Faulkner, to be the Honorary Director.

Mr Charles Harpum, to be a Law Commissioner.

Mr David Keith Brookman, to be the first elected General Secretary of the Iron and Steel Trades Confederation.

Mr John Murdoch, to be Director of the Courtauld Institute Galleries.

The Hon Mr Justice Hollings and The Hon Mr Justice Sheen, to retire as Judges of the High Court (Family Division and Queen's Bench Division respectively).