Click to follow
The Independent Online

Mr Peter Marshall, to be Ambassador to the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria.

Mr Michael Llewellyn Smith, to be Ambassador to Athens.

Mr John Edward O'Hare, to be full-time Taxing Master.

Mr Shamoon Somjee, to be a Metropolitan Stipendiary Magistrate.

Mrs Justice Arden, to be chairman of the Law Commission.

Professor Alan Watson, to be Deputy Chairman of the English-Speaking Union.

Mr Charles Barwell, Baroness Hooper, Baroness Smith and Mr Peter Sparling, to be Governors of the English-Speaking Union.

Church appointments

The Ven Michael Stanley Till, Archdeacon of Canterbury and Canon Residentiary of Canterbury Cathedral, to be Dean of Winchester.

Canon Christopher Hill, Canon Residentiary and Precentor of St Paul's Cathedral, diocese of London, to be Suffragan Bishop of Stafford, diocese of Lichfield.

The Right Rev Richard Hawkins, Suffragan Bishop of Plymouth, diocese of Exeter, to be Suffragan Bishop of Crediton, same diocese.